lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 29 Nov 2017 16:13:53 +0100
From:   Rasmus Villemoes <rasmus.villemoes@...vas.dk>
To:     Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>, <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>
CC:     Khalid Aziz <khalid.aziz@...cle.com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>, <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>, Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        John Hubbard <jhubbard@...dia.com>,
        Abdul Haleem <abdhalee@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Joel Stanley <joel@....id.au>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/2] mm: introduce MAP_FIXED_SAFE

On 2017-11-29 15:42, Michal Hocko wrote:
> 
> The first patch introduced MAP_FIXED_SAFE which enforces the given
> address but unlike MAP_FIXED it fails with ENOMEM if the given range
> conflicts with an existing one.

[s/ENOMEM/EEXIST/, as it seems you also did in the actual patch and
changelog]

>The flag is introduced as a completely
> new one rather than a MAP_FIXED extension because of the backward
> compatibility. We really want a never-clobber semantic even on older
> kernels which do not recognize the flag. Unfortunately mmap sucks wrt.
> flags evaluation because we do not EINVAL on unknown flags. On those
> kernels we would simply use the traditional hint based semantic so the
> caller can still get a different address (which sucks) but at least not
> silently corrupt an existing mapping. I do not see a good way around
> that.

I think it would be nice if this rationale was in the 1/2 changelog,
along with the hint about what userspace that wants to be compatible
with old kernels will have to do (namely, check that it got what it
requested) - which I see you did put in the man page.

-- 
Rasmus Villemoes
Software Developer
Prevas A/S
Hedeager 3
DK-8200 Aarhus N
+45 51210274
rasmus.villemoes@...vas.dk
www.prevas.dk

Powered by blists - more mailing lists