lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 6 Dec 2017 09:58:25 +0100
From:   Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...e-electrons.com>
To:     Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>
Cc:     linux-kernel-dev@...khoff.com, Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <kernel@...gutronix.de>,
        Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@...ertech.it>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        "open list:REAL TIME CLOCK (RTC) SUBSYSTEM" 
        <linux-rtc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Patrick Bruenn <p.bruenn@...khoff.com>,
        "open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>, Juergen Borleis <jbe@...gutronix.de>,
        open list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Noel Vellemans <Noel.Vellemans@...ionbms.com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@....com>,
        "moderated list:ARM/FREESCALE IMX / MXC ARM ARCHITECTURE" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Lothar WaƟmann <LW@...O-electronics.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 5/5] rtc: add mxc driver for i.MX53 SRTC

On 06/12/2017 at 09:36:18 +0100, Sascha Hauer wrote:
> > +/*
> > + * This function updates the RTC alarm registers and then clears all the
> > + * interrupt status bits.
> > + * The caller should hold the pdata->lock
> > + *
> > + * @param  alrm         the new alarm value to be updated in the RTC
> > + *
> > + * @return  0 if successful; non-zero otherwise.
> > + */
> > +static int mxc_rtc_write_alarm_locked(struct mxc_rtc_data *const pdata,
> > +				      struct rtc_time *alarm_tm)
> > +{
> > +	void __iomem *const ioaddr = pdata->ioaddr;
> > +	unsigned long time;
> > +
> > +	rtc_tm_to_time(alarm_tm, &time);
> > +
> > +	if (time > U32_MAX) {
> > +		pr_err("Hopefully I am out of service by then :-(\n");
> > +		return -EINVAL;
> > +	}
> 
> This will never happen as on your target hardware unsigned long is a
> 32bit type. Not sure what is best to do here. Maybe you should test
> the return value of rtc_tm_to_time. ATM it returns 0 unconditionally,
> but rtc_tm_to_time could detect when the input time doesn't fit into
> its return type and return an error in this case.
> Also I just realized that it's unsigned and only overflows in the year
> 2106. I'm most likely dead then so I don't care that much ;)
> 

One solution is to use the 64bit version instead so it doesn't overflow.
This makes the time > U32_MAX work.
Also, I'll send (hopefully soon) a series adding proper range checking
for the whole RTC subsystem. And yes, it not urgent as I don't think I
will care so much in 2106 too ;)

> > +/*
> > + * This function reads the current RTC time into tm in Gregorian date.
> > + *
> > + * @param  tm           contains the RTC time value upon return
> > + *
> > + * @return  0 if successful; non-zero otherwise.
> > + */
> > +static int mxc_rtc_read_time(struct device *dev, struct rtc_time *tm)
> > +{
> > +	struct mxc_rtc_data *pdata = dev_get_drvdata(dev);
> > +	time_t now;
> > +	int ret = mxc_rtc_lock(pdata);
> > +
> > +	if (ret)
> > +		return ret;
> > +
> > +	now = readl(pdata->ioaddr + SRTC_LPSCMR);
> > +	rtc_time_to_tm(now, tm);
> > +	ret = rtc_valid_tm(tm);

This check is useless for two reasons: you know that rtc_time_to_tm will
generate a valid tm and the core always checks the tm anyway.


-- 
Alexandre Belloni, Free Electrons
Embedded Linux and Kernel engineering
http://free-electrons.com

Powered by blists - more mailing lists