lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Dec 2017 20:50:59 +0100
From:   Sam Ravnborg <sam@...nborg.org>
To:     Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
Cc:     Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ulf Magnusson <ulfalizer@...il.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@...nel.org>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Markus Heiser <markus.heiser@...marit.de>,
        "open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Michal Marek <michal.lkml@...kovi.net>,
        SeongJae Park <sj38.park@...il.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 0/3] kbuild,kconfig: generate lexer/parser C files
 instead of copying _shipped files

Hi Masahiro.

> > In Linux build system convention, pre-generated files are version-
> > controlled with a "_shipped" suffix.  During the kernel building,
> > they are simply shipped (copied) removing the suffix.
> >
> > From users' point of view, this approach can reduce external tool
> > dependency for the kernel build,
> >
> > From developers point of view, it is tedious to manually regenerate
> > such artifacts.  In fact, we see several patches to regenerate
> > _shipped files.  They are noise commits.
...

Nice cleanup we should have does years ago.
When we introduced this we did this to minimize the time
it took to configure a clean kernel - as one of the reasons.
Since then the average computer has been significantly faster
so the time to run flex/bison is not an issue anymore.

	Sam

Powered by blists - more mailing lists