lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 16 Dec 2017 03:35:58 +0100
From:   "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>
To:     Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@....com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-pm@...r.kernel.org,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
        Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>,
        Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>,
        Paul Turner <pjt@...gle.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@....com>,
        Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@...hat.com>,
        Todd Kjos <tkjos@...roid.com>,
        Joel Fernandes <joelaf@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 4/4] sched/cpufreq_schedutil: use util_est for OPP selection

On Tuesday, December 5, 2017 6:10:18 PM CET Patrick Bellasi wrote:
> When schedutil looks at the CPU utilization, the current PELT value for
> that CPU is returned straight away. In certain scenarios this can have
> undesired side effects and delays on frequency selection.
> 
> For example, since the task utilization is decayed at wakeup time, a
> long sleeping big task newly enqueued does not add immediately a
> significant contribution to the target CPU. This introduces some latency
> before schedutil will be able to detect the best frequency required by
> that task.
> 
> Moreover, the PELT signal build-up time is function of the current
> frequency, because of the scale invariant load tracking support. Thus,
> starting from a lower frequency, the utilization build-up time will
> increase even more and further delays the selection of the actual
> frequency which better serves the task requirements.
> 
> In order to reduce these kind of latencies, this patch integrates the
> usage of the CPU's estimated utilization in the sugov_get_util function.
> 
> The estimated utilization of a CPU is defined to be the maximum between
> its PELT's utilization and the sum of the estimated utilization of each
> currently RUNNABLE task on that CPU.
> This allows to properly represent the expected utilization of a CPU which,
> for example, has just got a big task running after a long sleep period,
> and ultimately it allows to select the best frequency to run a task
> right after it wakes up.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@....com>
> Reviewed-by: Brendan Jackman <brendan.jackman@....com>
> Reviewed-by: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
> Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>
> Cc: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@...aro.org>
> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@...gle.com>
> Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@...aro.org>
> Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@....com>
> Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>
> Cc: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
> Cc: linux-pm@...r.kernel.org
> 
> ---
> Changes v1->v2:
>  - rebase on top of v4.15-rc2
>  - tested that overhauled PELT code does not affect the util_est
> ---
>  kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c | 6 +++++-
>  1 file changed, 5 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> index 2f52ec0f1539..465430d99440 100644
> --- a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> +++ b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
> @@ -183,7 +183,11 @@ static void sugov_get_util(unsigned long *util, unsigned long *max, int cpu)
>  
>  	cfs_max = arch_scale_cpu_capacity(NULL, cpu);
>  
> -	*util = min(rq->cfs.avg.util_avg, cfs_max);
> +	*util = rq->cfs.avg.util_avg;

I would use a local variable here.

That *util everywhere looks a bit dirtyish.

> +	if (sched_feat(UTIL_EST))
> +		*util = max(*util, rq->cfs.util_est_runnable);
> +	*util = min(*util, cfs_max);
> +
>  	*max = cfs_max;
>  }
>  
> 


Powered by blists - more mailing lists