lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 Dec 2017 15:49:20 +0100
From:   gregkh <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>
To:     Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Eduardo Valentin <eduval@...zon.com>,
        Eduardo Valentin <edubezval@...il.com>
Cc:     "kernelci.org bot" <bot@...nelci.org>,
        Tom Gall <tom.gall@...aro.org>,
        Sumit Semwal <sumit.semwal@...aro.org>,
        Amit Pundir <amit.pundir@...aro.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd.bergmann@...aro.org>,
        Anmar Oueja <anmar.oueja@...aro.org>,
        stable <stable@...r.kernel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: stable-rc/linux-4.9.y build: 183 builds: 179 failed, 4 passed,
 179 errors (v4.9.71-115-gd4b9c892aea4)

On Thu, Dec 21, 2017 at 12:33:45PM +0100, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> On Thu, Dec 21, 2017 at 12:06 PM, kernelci.org bot <bot@...nelci.org> wrote:
> > stable-rc/linux-4.9.y build: 183 builds: 179 failed, 4 passed, 179 errors (v4.9.71-115-gd4b9c892aea4)
> >
> > Full Build Summary: https://kernelci.org/build/stable-rc/branch/linux-4.9.y/kernel/v4.9.71-115-gd4b9c892aea4/
> >
> > Tree: stable-rc
> > Branch: linux-4.9.y
> > Git Describe: v4.9.71-115-gd4b9c892aea4
> > Git Commit: d4b9c892aea47e47ebc74e59533cef79f9ca30eb
> > Git URL: http://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/stable/linux-stable-rc.git
> > Built: 4 unique architectures
> >
> > Build Failures Detected:
> >
> > arm64:    gcc version 5.3.1 20160412 (Linaro GCC 5.3-2016.05)
> >
> >     allnoconfig: FAIL
> >     defconfig: FAIL
> >     tinyconfig: FAIL
> >
> > arm:    gcc version 5.3.1 20160412 (Linaro GCC 5.3-2016.05)
> >
> >     acs5k_defconfig: FAIL
> >     acs5k_tiny_defconfig: FAIL
> >     allnoconfig: FAIL
> 
> > Errors summary:
> >
> >     179  include/linux/sched.h:1479:35: error: field 'arch' has incomplete type
> 
> This comes from 09b09ab71840 ("mm, x86/mm: Make the batched unmap TLB flush
> API more generic"), backported from e73ad5ff2f76d upstream.
> 
> My 10-second analysis suggests that we should backport
> dcc2dc45f7cf ("sched/headers, mm: Move 'struct tlbflush_unmap_batch' from
> <linux/sched.h> to <linux/mm_types_task.h>")

Ugh, that's not a "straight" port at all, and will it really solve the
problem here?  At first glance I don't see how, but I must be missing
something...

Eduardo, any ideas here?  It's blowing up on your backported patch :(

thanks,

greg k-h

Powered by blists - more mailing lists