lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 21 Dec 2017 16:17:48 -0200
From:   Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@....samsung.com>
To:     Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@...ovan.org>
Cc:     linux-media@...r.kernel.org, Hans Verkuil <hverkuil@...all.nl>,
        Shuah Khan <shuahkh@....samsung.com>,
        Pawel Osciak <pawel@...iak.com>,
        Alexandre Courbot <acourbot@...omium.org>,
        Sakari Ailus <sakari.ailus@....fi>,
        Brian Starkey <brian.starkey@....com>,
        Thierry Escande <thierry.escande@...labora.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Gustavo Padovan <gustavo.padovan@...labora.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v6 2/6] [media] v4l: add 'unordered' flag to format
 description ioctl

Em Mon, 11 Dec 2017 16:27:37 -0200
Gustavo Padovan <gustavo@...ovan.org> escreveu:

> From: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo.padovan@...labora.com>
> 
> For explicit synchronization it important for userspace to know if the
> format being used by the driver can deliver the buffers back to userspace
> in the same order they were queued with QBUF.
> 
> Ordered streams fits nicely in a pipeline with DRM for example, where
> ordered buffer are expected.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Gustavo Padovan <gustavo.padovan@...labora.com>

Looks OK to me.

> ---
>  Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/vidioc-enum-fmt.rst | 3 +++
>  include/uapi/linux/videodev2.h                   | 1 +
>  2 files changed, 4 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/vidioc-enum-fmt.rst b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/vidioc-enum-fmt.rst
> index 019c513df217..368115f44fc0 100644
> --- a/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/vidioc-enum-fmt.rst
> +++ b/Documentation/media/uapi/v4l/vidioc-enum-fmt.rst
> @@ -116,6 +116,9 @@ one until ``EINVAL`` is returned.
>        - This format is not native to the device but emulated through
>  	software (usually libv4l2), where possible try to use a native
>  	format instead for better performance.
> +    * - ``V4L2_FMT_FLAG_UNORDERED``
> +      - 0x0004
> +      - This is a format that doesn't guarantee timely order of frames.
>  
>  
>  Return Value
> diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/videodev2.h b/include/uapi/linux/videodev2.h
> index 1c095b5a99c5..a8ea632c14f0 100644
> --- a/include/uapi/linux/videodev2.h
> +++ b/include/uapi/linux/videodev2.h
> @@ -709,6 +709,7 @@ struct v4l2_fmtdesc {
>  
>  #define V4L2_FMT_FLAG_COMPRESSED 0x0001
>  #define V4L2_FMT_FLAG_EMULATED   0x0002
> +#define V4L2_FMT_FLAG_UNORDERED  0x0004
>  
>  	/* Frame Size and frame rate enumeration */
>  /*


-- 
Thanks,
Mauro

Powered by blists - more mailing lists