lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 16 Apr 2018 17:25:04 +0200
From:   Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>
Cc:     x86@...nel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>, Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>,
        Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
        Brian Gerst <brgerst@...il.com>,
        David Laight <David.Laight@...lab.com>,
        Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@...hat.com>,
        Eduardo Valentin <eduval@...zon.com>,
        Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, aliguori@...zon.com,
        daniel.gruss@...k.tugraz.at, hughd@...gle.com, keescook@...gle.com,
        Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@...hat.com>,
        Waiman Long <llong@...hat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        "David H . Gutteridge" <dhgutteridge@...patico.ca>,
        jroedel@...e.de, joro@...tes.org
Subject: [PATCH 16/35] x86/pgtable/pae: Unshare kernel PMDs when PTI is enabled

From: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>

With PTI we need to map the per-process LDT into the kernel
address-space for each process, so we need separate kernel
PMDs per PGD.

Signed-off-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>
---
 arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable-3level_types.h | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable-3level_types.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable-3level_types.h
index 6a59a6d..78038e0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable-3level_types.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/pgtable-3level_types.h
@@ -21,9 +21,10 @@ typedef union {
 #endif	/* !__ASSEMBLY__ */
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_PARAVIRT
-#define SHARED_KERNEL_PMD	(pv_info.shared_kernel_pmd)
+#define SHARED_KERNEL_PMD	((!static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI) &&	\
+				 (pv_info.shared_kernel_pmd)))
 #else
-#define SHARED_KERNEL_PMD	1
+#define SHARED_KERNEL_PMD	(!static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
 #endif
 
 /*
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists