lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 16 Apr 2018 15:50:34 +0000
From:   Sasha Levin <Alexander.Levin@...rosoft.com>
To:     Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>
CC:     Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        "stable@...r.kernel.org" <stable@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "akpm@...ux-foundation.org" <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        "linux-mm@...ck.org" <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        Cong Wang <xiyou.wangcong@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...el.com>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Mel Gorman <mgorman@...e.de>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...nel.org>,
        Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@...e.cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>, Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.sakura.ne.jp>,
        Byungchul Park <byungchul.park@....com>,
        Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH AUTOSEL for 4.14 015/161] printk: Add console owner and
 waiter logic to load balance console writes

On Mon, Apr 16, 2018 at 05:30:31PM +0200, Pavel Machek wrote:
>On Mon 2018-04-16 08:18:09, Linus Torvalds wrote:
>> On Mon, Apr 16, 2018 at 6:30 AM, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org> wrote:
>> >
>> > I wonder if the "AUTOSEL" patches should at least have an "ack-by" from
>> > someone before they are pulled in. Otherwise there may be some subtle
>> > issues that can find their way into stable releases.
>>
>> I don't know about anybody else, but I  get so many of the patch-bot
>> patches for stable etc that I will *not* reply to normal cases. Only
>> if there's some issue with a patch will I reply.
>>
>> I probably do get more than most, but still - requiring active
>> participation for the steady flow of normal stable patches is almost
>> pointless.
>>
>> Just look at the subject line of this thread. The numbers are so big
>> that you almost need exponential notation for them.
>
>Question is if we need that many stable patches? Autosel seems to be
>picking up race conditions in LED state and W+X page fixes... I'd
>really like to see less stable patches.

Why? Given that the kernel keeps seeing more and more lines of code in
each new release, tools around the kernel keep evolving (new fuzzers,
testing suites, etc), and code gets more eyes, this guarantees that
you'll see more and more stable patches for each release as well.

Is there a reason not to take LED fixes if they fix a bug and don't
cause a regression? Sure, we can draw some arbitrary line, maybe
designate some subsystems that are more "important" than others, but
what's the point?

Powered by blists - more mailing lists