lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 11 Jul 2018 11:10:41 -0700
From:   "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
To:     Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc:     Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>,
        LKMM Maintainers -- Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>,
        Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>,
        Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
        Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>,
        Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Kernel development list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] tools/memory-model: Add extra ordering for locks and
 remove it for ordinary release/acquire

On Wed, Jul 11, 2018 at 06:34:56PM +0200, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> On Wed, Jul 11, 2018 at 10:43:45AM +0100, Will Deacon wrote:
> > Hi Alan,
> > 
> > On Tue, Jul 10, 2018 at 02:18:13PM -0400, Alan Stern wrote:
> > > More than one kernel developer has expressed the opinion that the LKMM
> > > should enforce ordering of writes by locking.  In other words, given
> > > the following code:
> > > 
> > > 	WRITE_ONCE(x, 1);
> > > 	spin_unlock(&s):
> > > 	spin_lock(&s);
> > > 	WRITE_ONCE(y, 1);
> > > 
> > > the stores to x and y should be propagated in order to all other CPUs,
> > > even though those other CPUs might not access the lock s.  In terms of
> > > the memory model, this means expanding the cumul-fence relation.
> > > 
> > > Locks should also provide read-read (and read-write) ordering in a
> > > similar way.  Given:
> > > 
> > > 	READ_ONCE(x);
> > > 	spin_unlock(&s);
> > > 	spin_lock(&s);
> > > 	READ_ONCE(y);		// or WRITE_ONCE(y, 1);
> > > 
> > > the load of x should be executed before the load of (or store to) y.
> > > The LKMM already provides this ordering, but it provides it even in
> > > the case where the two accesses are separated by a release/acquire
> > > pair of fences rather than unlock/lock.  This would prevent
> > > architectures from using weakly ordered implementations of release and
> > > acquire, which seems like an unnecessary restriction.  The patch
> > > therefore removes the ordering requirement from the LKMM for that
> > > case.
> > > 
> > > All the architectures supported by the Linux kernel (including RISC-V)
> > > do provide this ordering for locks, albeit for varying reasons.
> > > Therefore this patch changes the model in accordance with the
> > > developers' wishes.
> > > 
> > > Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>
> > 
> > Thanks, I'm happy with this version of the patch:
> > 
> > Reviewed-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
> 
> Me too! Thanks Alan.
> 
> Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@...radead.org>

And I applies you ask as well, thank you!

							Thanx, Paul

Powered by blists - more mailing lists