lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 7 Aug 2018 14:17:34 -0400 (EDT)
From:   Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
cc:     Marcin Wojtas <mw@...ihalf.com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
        Joao Pinto <Joao.Pinto@...opsys.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        linux-pci <linux-pci@...r.kernel.org>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Matt Sealey <neko@...uhatsu.net>,
        Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@...il.com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: framebuffer corruption due to overlapping stp instructions on
 arm64



On Tue, 7 Aug 2018, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:

> On 7 August 2018 at 19:39, Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> > On Tue, 7 Aug 2018, Marcin Wojtas wrote:
> >
> >> Ard, Mikulas,
> >>
> >> After some self-caused setup issues I was able to run the test on my
> >> MacchiatoBin with the kernel v4.18-rc8. It's been running for 1h+ now,
> >> loading the CPU to 100% and no single error event...
> >>
> >> I built the binary file with:
> >> gcc-linaro-7.2.1-2017.11-x86_64_aarch64-linux-gnu/bin/aarch64-linux-gnu-gcc -O2
> >>
> >> Maybe it's the older firmware issue?
> >
> > I have downloaded and built the firmware recently (it has timestamp Jul 30
> > 2018).
> >
> > Do you still have your firmware file "flash-image.bin" that you used, so
> > that I could try it?
> >
> >> Please send the full bootlog with
> >> the very first line after reset. My board rev is v1.3 and I use
> >> mainline UEFI (newest edk2 + edk2-platforms) + newest publicly
> >> available ARM-TF and earliest firmware for this board.
> >>
> >> Best regards,
> >> Marcin
> >
> 
> Mikulas,
> 
> Is the issue reproducible with an nvidia card + nouveau driver as well ?
> 
> Given the screen corruption i see with radeon even on other arm
> systems, i'd like to ensure that this is a platform bug not a driver
> bug.

I see the same memcpy-to-framebuffer corruption on Radeon HD 6450 and 
nVidia Quadro NVS 285.

3D acceleration on nVidia is slow, but it doesn't have visible glitches.

Mikulas

Powered by blists - more mailing lists