lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 8 Aug 2018 13:02:54 +0000
From:   David Laight <David.Laight@...LAB.COM>
To:     'Catalin Marinas' <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Matt Sealey <neko@...uhatsu.net>
CC:     Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
        Joao Pinto <Joao.Pinto@...opsys.com>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        linux-pci <linux-pci@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jingoo Han <jingoohan1@...il.com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        "Linux Kernel Mailing List" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: RE: framebuffer corruption due to overlapping stp instructions on
 arm64

From: Catalin Marinas
> Sent: 08 August 2018 13:17
...
> I think hazarding is what goes wrong here, especially since with
> overlapping unaligned addresses. However, I disagree that it is
> impossible to implement this properly on a platform with PCIe so that
> Normal NC mappings can be used.

I've been trying to follow this discussion...

Is the problem just that reads don't snoop/flush the write-combining buffer?
Aligned writes that end on an appropriate boundary will leave the write
combining buffer empty.
But if the buffer isn't emptied the PCIe read gets ahead of the PCIe write.

ISTR even x86 requires a fence instruction in some sequence associated
with write-combining writes.

	David

-
Registered Address Lakeside, Bramley Road, Mount Farm, Milton Keynes, MK1 1PT, UK
Registration No: 1397386 (Wales)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists