lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 8 Aug 2018 20:50:58 +0300
From:   Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>
To:     Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl>
Cc:     Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@...com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...tlin.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        Naren <naren.kernel@...il.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@...aro.org>,
        Sven Van Asbroeck <svendev@...x.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Alban Bedel <albeu@...e.fr>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        David Lechner <david@...hnology.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>,
        Linux Documentation List <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-i2c <linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:MEMORY TECHNOLOGY..." <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux OMAP Mailing List <linux-omap@...r.kernel.org>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 14/28] net: split eth_platform_get_mac_address() into subroutines

On Wed, Aug 8, 2018 at 6:31 PM, Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl> wrote:
> From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
>
> We want do add more sources from which to read the MAC address. In
> order to avoid bloating this function too much, start by splitting it
> into subroutines, each of which takes care of reading the MAC from
> one source.

> +static int mac_address_from_of(struct device *dev, u8 *mac_addr)
>  {
>         const unsigned char *addr;
> +       struct device_node *np;
>

> +       np = dev_is_pci(dev) ? pci_device_to_OF_node(to_pci_dev(dev))
> +                            : dev->of_node;

I didn't get these manipulations.

What the scenario when pci_dev->dev.of_node != dev->of_node?

-- 
With Best Regards,
Andy Shevchenko

Powered by blists - more mailing lists