lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 8 Aug 2018 15:15:59 -0400 (EDT)
From:   Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
cc:     Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        Andrew Pinski <pinskia@...il.com>,
        Richard Earnshaw <Richard.Earnshaw@....com>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <ramana.gcc@...glemail.com>,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...e-electrons.com>,
        GNU C Library <libc-alpha@...rceware.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: framebuffer corruption due to overlapping stp instructions on
 arm64



On Mon, 6 Aug 2018, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:

> No that works fine for me. VDPAU acceleration works as well, but it
> depends on your chromium build whether it can actually use it, I
> think? In any case, mplayer can use vdpau to play 1080p h264 without
> breaking a sweat on this system.

I didn't install the vdpau libraries and firmware. mplayer plays through 
xv and works (it can't play through vdpau). Chromium uses 
I-don't-know-what and locks up.

> Note that the VDPAU driver also relies on memory semantics, i.e., it
> may use DC ZVA (zero cacheline) instructions which are not permitted
> on device mappings. This is probably just glibc's memset() being
> invoked, but I remember hitting this on another PCIe-impaired arm64
> system with Synopsys PCIe IP

> Are you setting the pstate to auto? That helps a lot in my experience.
>
> I.e.,
>
> echo auto > /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/pstate

I tried that, but it didn't help.

Mikulas

Powered by blists - more mailing lists