lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 10 Aug 2018 10:05:14 +0200
From:   Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@...ev.pl>
To:     Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Sekhar Nori <nsekhar@...com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...tlin.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        Grygorii Strashko <grygorii.strashko@...com>,
        "David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Srinivas Kandagatla <srinivas.kandagatla@...aro.org>,
        Naren <naren.kernel@...il.com>,
        Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
        Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ivan Khoronzhuk <ivan.khoronzhuk@...aro.org>,
        Sven Van Asbroeck <svendev@...x.com>,
        Paolo Abeni <pabeni@...hat.com>, Alban Bedel <albeu@...e.fr>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        David Lechner <david@...hnology.com>,
        Andrew Lunn <andrew@...n.ch>
Cc:     linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-i2c@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org,
        netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 17/29] net: davinci_emac: use eth_platform_get_mac_address()

From: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>

We now support nvmem in eth_platform_get_mac_address() and all boards
have the mac-address cells defined. Stop getting the MAC from pdata
and use the dedicated helper.

Signed-off-by: Bartosz Golaszewski <bgolaszewski@...libre.com>
---
 drivers/net/ethernet/ti/davinci_emac.c | 12 ++++--------
 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 8 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/net/ethernet/ti/davinci_emac.c b/drivers/net/ethernet/ti/davinci_emac.c
index f270beebb428..5d01bad4baa5 100644
--- a/drivers/net/ethernet/ti/davinci_emac.c
+++ b/drivers/net/ethernet/ti/davinci_emac.c
@@ -1700,7 +1700,6 @@ davinci_emac_of_get_pdata(struct platform_device *pdev, struct emac_priv *priv)
 	const struct of_device_id *match;
 	const struct emac_platform_data *auxdata;
 	struct emac_platform_data *pdata = NULL;
-	const u8 *mac_addr;
 
 	if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_OF) || !pdev->dev.of_node)
 		return dev_get_platdata(&pdev->dev);
@@ -1712,12 +1711,6 @@ davinci_emac_of_get_pdata(struct platform_device *pdev, struct emac_priv *priv)
 	np = pdev->dev.of_node;
 	pdata->version = EMAC_VERSION_2;
 
-	if (!is_valid_ether_addr(pdata->mac_addr)) {
-		mac_addr = of_get_mac_address(np);
-		if (mac_addr)
-			ether_addr_copy(pdata->mac_addr, mac_addr);
-	}
-
 	of_property_read_u32(np, "ti,davinci-ctrl-reg-offset",
 			     &pdata->ctrl_reg_offset);
 
@@ -1819,8 +1812,11 @@ static int davinci_emac_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
 		goto err_free_netdev;
 	}
 
+	rc = eth_platform_get_mac_address(&pdev->dev, priv->mac_addr);
+	if (rc == -EPROBE_DEFER)
+		return -EPROBE_DEFER; /* We'll get the MAC address later. */
+
 	/* MAC addr and PHY mask , RMII enable info from platform_data */
-	memcpy(priv->mac_addr, pdata->mac_addr, ETH_ALEN);
 	priv->phy_id = pdata->phy_id;
 	priv->rmii_en = pdata->rmii_en;
 	priv->version = pdata->version;
-- 
2.18.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists