lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 21 Aug 2018 17:06:07 +0200
From:   Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>
To:     Houlong Wei <houlong.wei@...iatek.com>,
        Jassi Brar <jassisinghbrar@...il.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>
Cc:     Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>,
        Nicolas Boichat <drinkcat@...omium.org>,
        srv_heupstream@...iatek.com,
        Daoyuan Huang <daoyuan.huang@...iatek.com>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Daniel Kurtz <djkurtz@...omium.org>,
        HS Liao <hs.liao@...iatek.com>,
        Dennis-YC Hsieh <dennis-yc.hsieh@...iatek.com>,
        YT Shen <yt.shen@...iatek.com>,
        Monica Wang <monica.wang@...iatek.com>,
        linux-mediatek@...ts.infradead.org,
        Sascha Hauer <kernel@...gutronix.de>, enzhu.wang@...iatek.com,
        CK HU <ck.hu@...iatek.com>,
        Jiaguang Zhang <jiaguang.zhang@...iatek.com>,
        Bibby Hsieh <bibby.hsieh@...iatek.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, ginny.chen@...iatek.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH] mailbox: mediatek: Add check for possible failure of
 kzalloc

On Tue, 2018-08-21 at 18:22 +0800, Houlong Wei wrote:
> The patch 623a6143a845("mailbox: mediatek: Add Mediatek CMDQ driver")
> introduce the following static checker warning:
>   drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c:366 cmdq_mbox_send_data()
>   error: potential null dereference 'task'.  (kzalloc returns null)
> 
> Fixes: 623a6143a845 ("mailbox: mediatek: Add Mediatek CMDQ driver")
> Reported-by: Dan Carpenter <dan.carpenter@...cle.com>
> Signed-off-by: Houlong Wei <houlong.wei@...iatek.com>
> ---
>  drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c |    3 +++
>  1 file changed, 3 insertions(+)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c b/drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c
> index aec46d5..f7cc29c 100644
> --- a/drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c
> +++ b/drivers/mailbox/mtk-cmdq-mailbox.c
> @@ -363,6 +363,9 @@ static int cmdq_mbox_send_data(struct mbox_chan *chan, void *data)
>  	WARN_ON(cmdq->suspended);
>  
>  	task = kzalloc(sizeof(*task), GFP_ATOMIC);
> +	if (!task)
> +		return -ENOMEM;
> +
>  	task->cmdq = cmdq;
>  	INIT_LIST_HEAD(&task->list_entry);
>  	task->pa_base = pkt->pa_base;

Reviewed-by: Philipp Zabel <p.zabel@...gutronix.de>

regards
Philipp

Powered by blists - more mailing lists