lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Aug 2018 13:41:06 +0200
From:   Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
To:     Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
        Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@....com>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@....com>,
        Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@....com>,
        Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@....com>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>
Subject: [PATCH v6 01/11] arm64: add type casts to untagged_addr macro

This patch makes the untagged_addr macro accept all kinds of address types
(void *, unsigned long, etc.) and allows not to specify type casts in each
place where it is used. This is done by using __typeof__.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
---
 arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h | 3 ++-
 1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h b/arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h
index e66b0fca99c2..2d6451cbaa86 100644
--- a/arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h
+++ b/arch/arm64/include/asm/uaccess.h
@@ -102,7 +102,8 @@ static inline unsigned long __range_ok(const void __user *addr, unsigned long si
  * up with a tagged userland pointer. Clear the tag to get a sane pointer to
  * pass on to access_ok(), for instance.
  */
-#define untagged_addr(addr)		sign_extend64(addr, 55)
+#define untagged_addr(addr)		\
+	((__typeof__(addr))sign_extend64((__u64)(addr), 55))
 
 #define access_ok(type, addr, size)	__range_ok(addr, size)
 #define user_addr_max			get_fs
-- 
2.19.0.rc0.228.g281dcd1b4d0-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists