lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Aug 2018 13:41:14 +0200
From:   Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
To:     Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
        Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@....com>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@....com>,
        Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@....com>,
        Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@....com>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>
Subject: [PATCH v6 09/11] arm64: update Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt

Add a note that work on passing tagged user pointers to the kernel via
syscalls has started, but might not be complete yet.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
---
 Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt | 5 +++--
 1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt b/Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt
index a25a99e82bb1..361481283f00 100644
--- a/Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt
+++ b/Documentation/arm64/tagged-pointers.txt
@@ -35,8 +35,9 @@ Using non-zero address tags in any of these locations may result in an
 error code being returned, a (fatal) signal being raised, or other modes
 of failure.
 
-For these reasons, passing non-zero address tags to the kernel via
-system calls is forbidden, and using a non-zero address tag for sp is
+Some initial work for supporting non-zero address tags passed to the
+kernel via system calls has been done, but the kernel doesn't provide
+any guarantees at this point. Using a non-zero address tag for sp is
 strongly discouraged.
 
 Programs maintaining a frame pointer and frame records that use non-zero
-- 
2.19.0.rc0.228.g281dcd1b4d0-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists