lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Aug 2018 13:41:12 +0200
From:   Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
To:     Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
        Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@....com>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@....com>,
        Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@....com>,
        Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@....com>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>
Subject: [PATCH v6 07/11] fs, arm64: untag user address in copy_mount_options

In copy_mount_options a user address is being subtracted from TASK_SIZE.
If the address is lower than TASK_SIZE, the size is calculated to not
allow the exact_copy_from_user() call to cross TASK_SIZE boundary.
However if the address is tagged, then the size will be calculated
incorrectly.

Untag the address before subtracting.

Signed-off-by: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
---
 fs/namespace.c | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/fs/namespace.c b/fs/namespace.c
index 99186556f8d3..51f763fb9430 100644
--- a/fs/namespace.c
+++ b/fs/namespace.c
@@ -2672,7 +2672,7 @@ void *copy_mount_options(const void __user * data)
 	 * the remainder of the page.
 	 */
 	/* copy_from_user cannot cross TASK_SIZE ! */
-	size = TASK_SIZE - (unsigned long)data;
+	size = TASK_SIZE - (unsigned long)untagged_addr(data);
 	if (size > PAGE_SIZE)
 		size = PAGE_SIZE;
 
-- 
2.19.0.rc0.228.g281dcd1b4d0-goog

Powered by blists - more mailing lists