lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Aug 2018 07:40:04 -0700
From:   Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
To:     x86@...nel.org, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        Balbir Singh <bsingharora@...il.com>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omiun.org>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@...il.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Vedvyas Shanbhogue <vedvyas.shanbhogue@...el.com>
Cc:     Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
Subject: [RFC PATCH v3 3/8] x86/cet/ibt: ELF header parsing for IBT

Look in .note.gnu.property of an ELF file and check if Indirect
Branch Tracking needs to be enabled for the task.

Signed-off-by: H.J. Lu <hjl.tools@...il.com>
Signed-off-by: Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>
---
 arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/elf_property.h | 1 +
 arch/x86/kernel/elf.c                    | 8 +++++++-
 2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/elf_property.h b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/elf_property.h
index af361207718c..343a871b8fc1 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/elf_property.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/uapi/asm/elf_property.h
@@ -11,5 +11,6 @@
  * Bits for GNU_PROPERTY_X86_FEATURE_1_AND
  */
 #define GNU_PROPERTY_X86_FEATURE_1_SHSTK	(0x00000002)
+#define GNU_PROPERTY_X86_FEATURE_1_IBT		(0x00000001)
 
 #endif /* _UAPI_ASM_X86_ELF_PROPERTY_H */
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/elf.c b/arch/x86/kernel/elf.c
index a2c41bf39c58..41957f1bd9d0 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/elf.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/elf.c
@@ -298,7 +298,8 @@ int arch_setup_features(void *ehdr_p, void *phdr_p,
 
 	struct elf64_hdr *ehdr64 = ehdr_p;
 
-	if (!cpu_feature_enabled(X86_FEATURE_SHSTK))
+	if (!cpu_feature_enabled(X86_FEATURE_SHSTK) &&
+	    !cpu_feature_enabled(X86_FEATURE_IBT))
 		return 0;
 
 	if (ehdr64->e_ident[EI_CLASS] == ELFCLASS64) {
@@ -333,6 +334,11 @@ int arch_setup_features(void *ehdr_p, void *phdr_p,
 		}
 	}
 
+	if (cpu_feature_enabled(X86_FEATURE_IBT)) {
+		if (feature & GNU_PROPERTY_X86_FEATURE_1_IBT)
+			err = cet_setup_ibt();
+	}
+
 out:
 	return err;
 }
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists