lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 30 Aug 2018 12:38:06 -0700
From:   Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>
To:     Yu-cheng Yu <yu-cheng.yu@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        Balbir Singh <bsingharora@...il.com>,
        Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@...il.com>,
        Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        "H.J. Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>, Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omiun.org>,
        Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@...cle.com>,
        Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@...il.com>,
        Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>,
        Vedvyas Shanbhogue <vedvyas.shanbhogue@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v3 1/8] x86/cet/ibt: Add Kconfig option for user-mode
 Indirect Branch Tracking

On 08/30/2018 07:40 AM, Yu-cheng Yu wrote:
> diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
> index 2cfe11e1cf7f..0d97b03f35f6 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
> @@ -1941,6 +1941,18 @@ config X86_INTEL_SHADOW_STACK_USER
>  
>  	  If unsure, say y.
>  
> +config X86_INTEL_BRANCH_TRACKING_USER
> +	prompt "Intel Indirect Branch Tracking for user-mode"
> +	def_bool n
> +	depends on CPU_SUP_INTEL && X86_64
> +	select X86_INTEL_CET
> +	select ARCH_HAS_PROGRAM_PROPERTIES
> +	---help---
> +	  Indirect Branch Tracking provides hardware protection against return-/jmp-
> +	  oriented programing attacks.

	           programming

> +
> +	  If unsure, say y
> +
>  config EFI
>  	bool "EFI runtime service support"
>  	depends on ACPI


-- 
~Randy

Powered by blists - more mailing lists