lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 31 Aug 2018 13:41:06 +0200
From:   Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>
To:     Yogesh Gaur <yogeshnarayan.gaur@....com>
Cc:     MTD Maling List <linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...tlin.com>,
        Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        linux-spi <linux-spi@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:OPEN FIRMWARE AND FLATTENED DEVICE TREE BINDINGS" 
        <devicetree@...r.kernel.org>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Rob Herring <robh@...nel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Frieder Schrempf <frieder.schrempf@...eet.de>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/7] spi: add slave device size in spi_device struct

Hi Yogesh,

Thanks for your patch!

On Fri, Aug 31, 2018 at 12:33 PM Yogesh Gaur <yogeshnarayan.gaur@....com> wrote:
> Add 'size' data variable in spi_device struct.
> This is to save the size of the connected slave device.

What is the "size" of an SPI slave device?

> After slave device scan, spi_nor_scan, size being assigned to this
> from MTD layer.

Ah, this is MTD specific?

> SFDP read is being requested before completion of spi_nor_scan()
> routine, thus populate device size before making read request
> to the SPI controller.
>
> Signed-off-by: Yogesh Gaur <yogeshnarayan.gaur@....com>

> --- a/include/linux/spi/spi.h
> +++ b/include/linux/spi/spi.h
> @@ -127,6 +127,7 @@ void spi_statistics_add_transfer_stats(struct spi_statistics *stats,
>   *     for driver coldplugging, and in uevents used for hotplugging
>   * @cs_gpio: gpio number of the chipselect line (optional, -ENOENT when
>   *     not using a GPIO line)
> + * @size: size of the connected slave device

Please document what is the meaning of "size".

>   *
>   * @statistics: statistics for the spi_device
>   *
> @@ -168,6 +169,7 @@ struct spi_device {
>         void                    *controller_data;
>         char                    modalias[SPI_NAME_SIZE];
>         int                     cs_gpio;        /* chip select gpio */
> +       u32                     size;           /* size of slave device */
>
>         /* the statistics */
>         struct spi_statistics   statistics;

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@...ux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

Powered by blists - more mailing lists