lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 31 Aug 2018 13:40:48 +0300
From:   Andi Shyti <andi@...zian.org>
To:     Krzysztof Kozlowski <krzk@...nel.org>
Cc:     Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Kukjin Kim <kgene@...nel.org>,
        Pankaj Dubey <pankaj.dubey@...sung.com>,
        Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <b.zolnierkie@...sung.com>,
        Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        linux-samsung-soc@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Chanwoo Choi <cw00.choi@...sung.com>,
        Seung-Woo Kim <sw0312.kim@...sung.com>,
        Inki Dae <inki.dae@...sung.com>,
        Sylwester Nawrocki <s.nawrocki@...sung.com>,
        Alim Akhtar <alim.akhtar@...sung.com>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] dt-bindings: arm: Explicitly mark Samsung Exynos SoC
 as unstable

Hi Krzysztof,

On Thu, Aug 30, 2018 at 08:02:05PM +0200, Krzysztof Kozlowski wrote:
> Samsung Exynos SoCs and boards related bindings evolved since the initial
> introduction, but initially the bindings were minimal and a bit incomplete
> (they never described all the hardware modules available in the SoCs).
> Since then some significant (not fully compatible) changes have been
> already committed a few times (like gpio replaced by pinctrl, display ddc,
> mfc reserved memory, some core clocks added to various hardware modules,
> added more required nodes).
> 
> On the other side there are no boards which have device tree embedded in
> the bootloader. Device tree blob is always compiled from the kernel tree
> and updated together with the kernel image.
> 
> Thus to avoid further adding a bunch of workarounds for old/missing
> bindings, make development of new platforms easier and allow to make
> cleanup of the existing code and device tree files, lets mark some
> Samsung Exynos SoC platform bindings as unstable. This means that
> bindings can may change at any time and users should use the dtb file
           ^^^^^^^
you have a typo here, other than that I agree with the patch:

Acked-by: Andi Shyti <andi@...zian.org>

Thanks,
Andi

Powered by blists - more mailing lists