lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 15 Jan 2019 16:18:48 +0100
From:   Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>
To:     Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>
Cc:     y2038 Mailman List <y2038@...ts.linaro.org>,
        Linux API <linux-api@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@...assic.park.msu.ru>,
        Matt Turner <mattst88@...il.com>,
        Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@...el.com>,
        Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>,
        Michal Simek <monstr@...str.eu>,
        Paul Burton <paul.burton@...s.com>,
        Helge Deller <deller@....de>,
        Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@...ibm.com>,
        Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@...ibm.com>,
        Rich Felker <dalias@...c.org>,
        David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>,
        Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@...il.com>,
        Firoz Khan <firoz.khan@...aro.org>,
        "Eric W . Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Deepa Dinamani <deepa.kernel@...il.com>,
        Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Davidlohr Bueso <dave@...olabs.net>,
        alpha <linux-alpha@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        linux-ia64@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-m68k <linux-m68k@...ts.linux-m68k.org>,
        linux-mips@...r.kernel.org,
        Parisc List <linux-parisc@...r.kernel.org>,
        linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>,
        linux-s390 <linux-s390@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux-sh list <linux-sh@...r.kernel.org>,
        sparclinux <sparclinux@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 14/15] arch: add split IPC system calls where needed

On Tue, Jan 15, 2019 at 4:01 PM Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de> wrote:
>
> On Mon, Jan 14, 2019 at 4:59 AM Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au> wrote:
> > Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de> writes:
> > >  arch/m68k/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl     | 11 +++++++++++
> > >  arch/mips/kernel/syscalls/syscall_o32.tbl | 11 +++++++++++
> > >  arch/powerpc/kernel/syscalls/syscall.tbl  | 12 ++++++++++++
> >
> > I have some changes I'd like to make to our syscall table that will
> > clash with this.
> >
> > I'll try and send them today.
>
> Ok. Are those for 5.0 or 5.1? If they are intended for 5.0, it would be
> nice for me to have a branch based on 5.0-rc1 that I can put
> the other patches on top of.

There is also another change that I considered:

At the end of my series, we have a lot of entries like

245     32      clock_settime                   sys_clock_settime32
245     64      clock_settime                   sys_clock_settime
245     spu     clock_settime                   sys_clock_settime

which could be folded into

245     32      clock_settime                   sys_clock_settime32
245     spu64 clock_settime                   sys_clock_settime

if we just add another option to the ABI field. Any thoughts on
that?

      Arnd

Powered by blists - more mailing lists