lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 18 Jan 2019 15:16:49 +0100
From:   Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>
To:     Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Cc:     Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>,
        Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        linux-clk@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org,
        Thomas Petazzoni <thomas.petazzoni@...tlin.com>,
        Antoine Tenart <antoine.tenart@...tlin.com>,
        Maxime Chevallier <maxime.chevallier@...tlin.com>,
        Nadav Haklai <nadavh@...vell.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 4/4] clk: mvebu: armada-37xx-xtal: fill the device entry when registering the clock

Hi Miquel,
 
 On mar., janv. 08 2019, Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com> wrote:

> So far the clk_hw_register_fixed_factor() call was not providing any
> device structure. While doing so is harmless for regular use, the
> missing device structure may be a problem for suspend to RAM support.
>
> Since, device links have been added to clocks, links created during
> probe will enforce the suspend/resume orders. When the device is
> missing during the registration, no link can be established, hence the
> order between parent and child clocks are not enforced.
>
> Adding the device structure here will create a link between the XTAL
> clock (this one) and the four TBG clocks that are derived from it.
>
> Signed-off-by: Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>

Reviewed-by: Gregory CLEMENT <gregory.clement@...tlin.com>

Thanks,

Gregory

> ---
>  drivers/clk/mvebu/armada-37xx-xtal.c | 3 ++-
>  1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/drivers/clk/mvebu/armada-37xx-xtal.c b/drivers/clk/mvebu/armada-37xx-xtal.c
> index e9e306d4e9af..0e74bcd83d1a 100644
> --- a/drivers/clk/mvebu/armada-37xx-xtal.c
> +++ b/drivers/clk/mvebu/armada-37xx-xtal.c
> @@ -57,7 +57,8 @@ static int armada_3700_xtal_clock_probe(struct platform_device *pdev)
>  		rate = 25000000;
>  
>  	of_property_read_string_index(np, "clock-output-names", 0, &xtal_name);
> -	xtal_hw = clk_hw_register_fixed_rate(NULL, xtal_name, NULL, 0, rate);
> +	xtal_hw = clk_hw_register_fixed_rate(&pdev->dev, xtal_name, NULL, 0,
> +					     rate);
>  	if (IS_ERR(xtal_hw))
>  		return PTR_ERR(xtal_hw);
>  	ret = of_clk_add_hw_provider(np, of_clk_hw_simple_get, xtal_hw);
> -- 
> 2.19.1
>

-- 
Gregory Clement, Bootlin
Embedded Linux and Kernel engineering
http://bootlin.com

Powered by blists - more mailing lists