lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 22 Jan 2019 15:34:51 -0800
From:   Brian Norris <briannorris@...omium.org>
To:     Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org>
Cc:     Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        Andy Gross <andy.gross@...aro.org>,
        David Brown <david.brown@...aro.org>,
        Sibi Sankar <sibis@...eaurora.org>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        linux-arm-msm <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
        devicetree@...r.kernel.org, LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Evan Green <evgreen@...omium.org>,
        Ben Chan <benchan@...gle.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 02/10] arm64: dts: qcom: sdm845: Define rmtfs memory

On Tue, Jan 22, 2019 at 3:26 PM Doug Anderson <dianders@...omium.org> wrote:
> 2. In https://crrev.com/c/1119572, the argument was made that the size
> of this carveout is board-specific.  That makes it hard to put it in
> sdm845.dts.

And we've increased the size of the memory carve-out since then,
because the memory requirements depend on the SW features you're using
on the modem side.

So that's definitely a reason for giving it a label we can modify it
with, at a minimum (as Doug suggested). I'm somewhat ambivalent as to
whether this should or shouldn't go in the base sdm845.dtsi -- it's
still a feature where most of the definitions (e.g., compatible;
client ID) should be applicable to all boards.

Brian

Powered by blists - more mailing lists