lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 22 Jan 2019 16:42:53 +0900
From:   Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
To:     linux-mtd@...ts.infradead.org,
        Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@...tlin.com>,
        Miquel Raynal <miquel.raynal@...tlin.com>
Cc:     Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Thierry Reding <thierry.reding@...il.com>,
        Brian Norris <computersforpeace@...il.com>,
        Jonathan Hunter <jonathanh@...dia.com>,
        Linus Walleij <linus.walleij@...aro.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, Marek Vasut <marek.vasut@...il.com>,
        Stefan Agner <stefan@...er.ch>,
        Richard Weinberger <richard@....at>,
        David Woodhouse <dwmw2@...radead.org>,
        Janusz Krzysztofik <jmkrzyszt@...il.com>,
        linux-tegra@...r.kernel.org,
        Boris Brezillon <bbrezillon@...nel.org>,
        Lucas Stach <dev@...xeye.de>
Subject: [PATCH 0/2] mtd: nand: use unnamed union field

The new exec_op() scheme takes advantage of union
in order to store instruction private data, which is mutually
exclusive.

I felt a bit annoyed with the long accessors.
At least, we can omit "ctx." by making the union anonymous.

I converted nand_op_instr and nand_op_parser_pattern_elem.

I still see more instances, e.g.

  struct nand_op_data_instr {
          unsigned int len;
          union {
                  void *in;
                  const void *out;
          } buf;
          bool force_8bit;
  };

We could convert this into:

  struct nand_op_data_instr {
          unsigned int len;
          union {
                  void *ibuf;
                  const void *obuf;
          };
          bool force_8bit;
  };

Or, if we want to match the struct to NAND_OP_*_INSTR,
we can split it into two structures.

  struct nand_op_data_in_instr {
          unsigned int len;
          void *buf;
          bool force_8bit;
  };

  struct nand_op_data_out_instr {
          unsigned int len;
          const void *buf;
          bool force_8bit;
  };

Anyway, let's see if people are positive about
this shortning.



Masahiro Yamada (2):
  mtd: rawnand: use unnamed union in struct nand_op_instr
  mtd: rawnand: use unnamed union in struct nand_op_parser_pattern_elem

 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/ams-delta.c    | 18 +++++------
 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/fsmc_nand.c    | 41 +++++++++++-------------
 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/marvell_nand.c | 16 +++++-----
 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/nand_base.c    | 64 ++++++++++++++++++-------------------
 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/tegra_nand.c   | 10 +++---
 drivers/mtd/nand/raw/vf610_nfc.c    | 14 ++++----
 include/linux/mtd/rawnand.h         | 36 ++++++++++-----------
 7 files changed, 97 insertions(+), 102 deletions(-)

-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists