lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 22 Jan 2019 16:24:21 +0000 (UTC)
From:   Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>
To:     Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
Cc:     Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>, Eyal Reizer <eyalr@...com>,
        linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        Ricardo Salveti <rsalveti@...lveti.net>,
        Kishon Vijay Abraham I <kishon@...com>,
        Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@...aro.org>,
        John Stultz <john.stultz@...aro.org>,
        Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@....de>,
        Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-omap@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2] wlcore: sdio: Fixup power on/off sequence

Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org> wrote:

> During "wlan-up", we are programming the FW into the WiFi-chip. However,
> re-programming the FW doesn't work, unless a power cycle of the WiFi-chip
> is made in-between the programmings.
> 
> To conform to this requirement and to fix the regression in a simple way,
> let's start by allowing that the SDIO card (WiFi-chip) may stay powered on
> (runtime resumed) when wl12xx_sdio_power_off() returns. The intent with the
> current code is to treat this scenario as an error, but unfortunate this
> doesn't work as expected, so let's fix this.
> 
> The other part is to guarantee that a power cycle of the SDIO card has been
> completed when wl12xx_sdio_power_on() returns, as to allow the FW
> programming to succeed. However, relying solely on runtime PM to deal with
> this isn't sufficient. For example, userspace may prevent runtime suspend
> via sysfs for the device that represents the SDIO card, leading to that the
> mmc core also keeps it powered on. For this reason, let's instead do a
> brute force power cycle in wl12xx_sdio_power_on().
> 
> Fixes: 728a9dc61f13 ("wlcore: sdio: Fix flakey SDIO runtime PM handling")
> Signed-off-by: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
> Tested-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
> Tested-by: Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@...aro.org>
> Signed-off-by: Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>

Patch applied to wireless-drivers.git, thanks.

13e62626c578 wlcore: sdio: Fixup power on/off sequence

-- 
https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/10765781/

https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/developers/documentation/submittingpatches

Powered by blists - more mailing lists