lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 22 Jan 2019 18:57:52 +0100
From:   Alexandre Belloni <alexandre.belloni@...tlin.com>
To:     Sam Ravnborg <sam@...nborg.org>
Cc:     Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@...ertech.it>,
        Andrew Jeffery <andrew@...id.au>,
        Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@....com>,
        Joel Stanley <joel@....id.au>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Rob Herring <robh+dt@...nel.org>,
        Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Urs Fässler <urs.fassler@....ch>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>, devicetree@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-rtc@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 0/6] add quartz load support to NXP rtc drivers

On 19/01/2019 10:00:25+0100, Sam Ravnborg wrote:
> Respin of patchset on top of v5.0-rc2 with feedback addressed (thanks!)
> 
> Introduce a new generic property "quartz-load-femtofarad"
> to specify the quartz load.
> The default value is selected to match the current Linux
> drivers, so there are no behavior changes if a binding do not
> specify the quarts-load.
> The unit is femtofarads because several RTC's define the quarts load
> in steps of 0.5 pF.
> 
> The two drivers rtc-pcf8523 and rtc-pcf85063 are both
> updated to use the new binding.
> Previously pcf8523 hardcoded the quartz load to 12.5pF, and
> pcf85063 used the reset default of 7pF.
> With this patchset it can now be specified in the DT,
> if the defaults are not OK.
> 
> The patch-set is tested on a proprietary board for both
> RTC variants (v2 variant only as there was only trivial changes in v3).
> 
> 	Sam
> 
> v3:
> - Document generic property "quartz-load-femtofarads" in rtc.txt (Rob)
> - Fix indent several places - ups (Alexandre)
> - Use the simpler name "rtc" in DT examples (Rob)
> - Collected "Reviewed by's"
> 
> v2:
> - Introduce a generic property "quartz-load-femtofarads"
> - Add femtofarads to property-units.txt
> - Make the changes backward compatible
> - Reduced logging
> - Warn, when we continue with a default value
> - Tested, by Søren Andersen, on real HW
> - Rebased on top of v5.0-rc1
> 
>         Sam
> 
> Sam Ravnborg (6):
>       devicetree: property-units: Add femtofarads unit
>       dt-bindings: rtc: Add quartz-load-femtofarads property
>       dt-binding: pcf8523: add xtal load capacitance
>       dt-binding: pcf85063: add xtal load capacitance
>       rtc: pcf8523: set xtal load capacitance from DT
>       rtc: pcf85063: set xtal load capacitance from DT
> 

All applied, thanks.

-- 
Alexandre Belloni, Bootlin
Embedded Linux and Kernel engineering
https://bootlin.com

Powered by blists - more mailing lists