lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 19 Feb 2019 18:00:02 -0800
From:   "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>
To:     Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>,
        Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>,
        Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>,
        Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2] tools/memory-model: Fix comment in
 MP+poonceonces.litmus

On Tue, Feb 19, 2019 at 11:55:22PM +0100, Andrea Parri wrote:
> The comment should say "Sometimes" for the result.

I queued both of these, thank you!   Just to be clear "Maybe" is "don't
care", so this patch is changing this litmus test from "LKMM can allow
or forbid, at its option" to "LKMM must allow".  Which should be fine,
given that the test has absolutely no ordering.

							Thanx, Paul

> Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>
> Cc: Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
> Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>
> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>
> Cc: David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>
> Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@....ac.uk>
> Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@...ia.fr>
> Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>
> Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>
> Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>
> ---
>  tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/MP+poonceonces.litmus | 2 +-
>  1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
> 
> diff --git a/tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/MP+poonceonces.litmus b/tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/MP+poonceonces.litmus
> index b2b60b84fb9dc..172f0145301c5 100644
> --- a/tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/MP+poonceonces.litmus
> +++ b/tools/memory-model/litmus-tests/MP+poonceonces.litmus
> @@ -1,7 +1,7 @@
>  C MP+poonceonces
>  
>  (*
> - * Result: Maybe
> + * Result: Sometimes
>   *
>   * Can the counter-intuitive message-passing outcome be prevented with
>   * no ordering at all?
> -- 
> 2.7.4
> 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists