lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 27 Feb 2019 08:05:11 -0800
From:   Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
To:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>
Cc:     Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@...el.com>, Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@...el.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>, x86@...nel.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri@...el.com>,
        Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Don Zickus <dzickus@...hat.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>,
        Babu Moger <babu.moger@...cle.com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>,
        Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>,
        "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        sparclinux@...r.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
Subject: [RFC PATCH v2 07/14] watchdog/hardlockup: Define a generic function to detect hardlockups

The procedure to detect hardlockups is independent of the underlying
mechanism that generated the non-maskable interrupt used to drive the
detector. Thus, it can be put in a separate, generic function. In this
manner, it can be invoked by various implementations of the NMI watchdog.

For this purpose, move the bulk of watchdog_overflow_callback() to the
new function inspect_for_hardlockups(). This function can then be called
from the applicable NMI handlers.

Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>
Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@...el.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@...el.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@...hat.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <frederic@...nel.org>
Cc: Babu Moger <babu.moger@...cle.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@...b.com>
Cc: Colin Ian King <colin.king@...onical.com>
Cc: "Luis R. Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@...el.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org
Cc: sparclinux@...r.kernel.org
Cc: linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@...ux.intel.com>
---
 include/linux/nmi.h   |  1 +
 kernel/watchdog_hld.c | 18 +++++++++++-------
 2 files changed, 12 insertions(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/nmi.h b/include/linux/nmi.h
index 9003e29cde46..5a8b19749769 100644
--- a/include/linux/nmi.h
+++ b/include/linux/nmi.h
@@ -212,6 +212,7 @@ extern int proc_watchdog_thresh(struct ctl_table *, int ,
 				void __user *, size_t *, loff_t *);
 extern int proc_watchdog_cpumask(struct ctl_table *, int,
 				 void __user *, size_t *, loff_t *);
+void inspect_for_hardlockups(struct pt_regs *regs);
 
 #ifdef CONFIG_HAVE_ACPI_APEI_NMI
 #include <asm/nmi.h>
diff --git a/kernel/watchdog_hld.c b/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
index 71381168dede..9724cd57307b 100644
--- a/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
+++ b/kernel/watchdog_hld.c
@@ -106,14 +106,8 @@ static struct perf_event_attr wd_hw_attr = {
 	.disabled	= 1,
 };
 
-/* Callback function for perf event subsystem */
-static void watchdog_overflow_callback(struct perf_event *event,
-				       struct perf_sample_data *data,
-				       struct pt_regs *regs)
+void inspect_for_hardlockups(struct pt_regs *regs)
 {
-	/* Ensure the watchdog never gets throttled */
-	event->hw.interrupts = 0;
-
 	if (__this_cpu_read(watchdog_nmi_touch) == true) {
 		__this_cpu_write(watchdog_nmi_touch, false);
 		return;
@@ -162,6 +156,16 @@ static void watchdog_overflow_callback(struct perf_event *event,
 	return;
 }
 
+/* Callback function for perf event subsystem */
+static void watchdog_overflow_callback(struct perf_event *event,
+				       struct perf_sample_data *data,
+				       struct pt_regs *regs)
+{
+	/* Ensure the watchdog never gets throttled */
+	event->hw.interrupts = 0;
+	inspect_for_hardlockups(regs);
+}
+
 static int hardlockup_detector_event_create(void)
 {
 	unsigned int cpu = smp_processor_id();
-- 
2.17.1

Powered by blists - more mailing lists