lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 8 Mar 2019 20:52:27 -0700
From:   Yu Zhao <yuzhao@...gle.com>
To:     Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
Cc:     Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Nick Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill@...temov.name>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>,
        Jun Yao <yaojun8558363@...il.com>,
        Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-arch@...r.kernel.org, linux-mm@...ck.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/3] arm64: mm: don't call page table ctors for init_mm

On Tue, Feb 26, 2019 at 03:13:07PM +0000, Mark Rutland wrote:
> Hi,
> 
> On Mon, Feb 18, 2019 at 04:13:18PM -0700, Yu Zhao wrote:
> > init_mm doesn't require page table lock to be initialized at
> > any level. Add a separate page table allocator for it, and the
> > new one skips page table ctors.
> 
> Just to check, in a previous reply you mentioned we need to call the
> ctors for our efi_mm, since we use apply_to_page_range() on that. Is
> that only because apply_to_pte_range() tries to take the ptl for non
> init_mm?

Precisely.

> ... or did I miss something else?
> 
> > The ctors allocate memory when ALLOC_SPLIT_PTLOCKS is set. Not
> > calling them avoids memory leak in case we call pte_free_kernel()
> > on init_mm.
> > 
> > Signed-off-by: Yu Zhao <yuzhao@...gle.com>
> 
> Assuming that was all, this patch makes sense to me. FWIW:
> 
> Acked-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>

Thanks.

> Thanks,
> Mark.
> 
> > ---
> >  arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c | 15 +++++++++++++--
> >  1 file changed, 13 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
> > 
> > diff --git a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> > index fa7351877af3..e8bf8a6300e8 100644
> > --- a/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> > +++ b/arch/arm64/mm/mmu.c
> > @@ -370,6 +370,16 @@ static void __create_pgd_mapping(pgd_t *pgdir, phys_addr_t phys,
> >  	} while (pgdp++, addr = next, addr != end);
> >  }
> >  
> > +static phys_addr_t pgd_kernel_pgtable_alloc(int shift)
> > +{
> > +	void *ptr = (void *)__get_free_page(PGALLOC_GFP);
> > +	BUG_ON(!ptr);
> > +
> > +	/* Ensure the zeroed page is visible to the page table walker */
> > +	dsb(ishst);
> > +	return __pa(ptr);
> > +}
> > +
> >  static phys_addr_t pgd_pgtable_alloc(int shift)
> >  {
> >  	void *ptr = (void *)__get_free_page(PGALLOC_GFP);
> > @@ -591,7 +601,7 @@ static int __init map_entry_trampoline(void)
> >  	/* Map only the text into the trampoline page table */
> >  	memset(tramp_pg_dir, 0, PGD_SIZE);
> >  	__create_pgd_mapping(tramp_pg_dir, pa_start, TRAMP_VALIAS, PAGE_SIZE,
> > -			     prot, pgd_pgtable_alloc, 0);
> > +			     prot, pgd_kernel_pgtable_alloc, 0);
> >  
> >  	/* Map both the text and data into the kernel page table */
> >  	__set_fixmap(FIX_ENTRY_TRAMP_TEXT, pa_start, prot);
> > @@ -1067,7 +1077,8 @@ int arch_add_memory(int nid, u64 start, u64 size, struct vmem_altmap *altmap,
> >  		flags = NO_BLOCK_MAPPINGS | NO_CONT_MAPPINGS;
> >  
> >  	__create_pgd_mapping(swapper_pg_dir, start, __phys_to_virt(start),
> > -			     size, PAGE_KERNEL, pgd_pgtable_alloc, flags);
> > +			     size, PAGE_KERNEL, pgd_kernel_pgtable_alloc,
> > +			     flags);
> >  
> >  	return __add_pages(nid, start >> PAGE_SHIFT, size >> PAGE_SHIFT,
> >  			   altmap, want_memblock);
> > -- 
> > 2.21.0.rc0.258.g878e2cd30e-goog
> > 

Powered by blists - more mailing lists