lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Mar 2019 11:36:04 +0100
From:   "Enrico Weigelt, metux IT consult" <lkml@...ux.net>
To:     Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@...il.com>,
        "Enrico Weigelt, metux IT consult" <info@...ux.net>
Cc:     Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Eric Anholt <eric@...olt.net>,
        Stefan Wahren <stefan.wahren@...e.com>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Ray Jui <rjui@...adcom.com>,
        Scott Branden <sbranden@...adcom.com>,
        bcm-kernel-feedback-list <bcm-kernel-feedback-list@...adcom.com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        Vladimir Zapolskiy <vz@...ia.com>,
        Matthias Brugger <matthias.bgg@...il.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Tobias Klauser <tklauser@...tanz.ch>,
        Richard Genoud <richard.genoud@...il.com>,
        macro@...ux-mips.org,
        Uwe Kleine-K├Ânig <u.kleine-koenig@...gutronix.de>,
        Sascha Hauer <kernel@...gutronix.de>, slemieux.tyco@...il.com,
        Andy Gross <andy.gross@...aro.org>,
        David Brown <david.brown@...aro.org>,
        Shawn Guo <shawnguo@...nel.org>,
        Sascha Hauer <s.hauer@...gutronix.de>,
        Fabio Estevam <festevam@...il.com>,
        dl-linux-imx <linux-imx@....com>, baohua@...nel.org,
        Peter Korsgaard <jacmet@...site.dk>,
        "open list:SERIAL DRIVERS" <linux-serial@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org,
        "open list:LINUX FOR POWERPC PA SEMI PWRFICIENT" 
        <linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org>
Subject: Re: serial driver cleanups v2

On 15.03.19 10:12, Andy Shevchenko wrote:

>> Part II will be about moving the mmio range from mapbase and
>> mapsize (which are used quite inconsistently) to a struct resource
>> and using helpers for that. But this one isn't finished yet.
>> (if somebody likes to have a look at it, I can send it, too)
> 
> Let's do that way you are preparing a branch somewhere and anounce
> here as an RFC, since this was neither tested nor correct.

Okay, here it is:

I. https://github.com/metux/linux/tree/submit/serial-clean-v3
   --> general cleanups, as basis for II

II. https://github.com/metux/linux/tree/wip/serial-res
   --> moving towards using struct resource consistently

III. https://github.com/metux/linux/tree/hack/serial
    --> the final steps, which are yet completely broken
    (more a notepad for things still to do :o)

The actual goal is generalizing the whole iomem handling, so individual
usually just need to call some helpers that do most of the things.
Finally, I also wanted to have all io region information consolidated
in struct resource.

Meanwhile I've learned that I probably was a bit too eager w/ that.
Guess I'll have to rethink my strategy.

> And selling point for many of them is not true: it doesn't make any
> difference in the size in code, but increases a time to run
> (devm_ioremap_resource() does more than plain devm_iomap() call).

Okay, just seen it. Does the the runtime overhead cause any problems ?


--mtx

-- 
Enrico Weigelt, metux IT consult
Free software and Linux embedded engineering
info@...ux.net -- +49-151-27565287

Powered by blists - more mailing lists