lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 15 Mar 2019 09:17:44 -0700
From:   Michael Turquette <mturquette@...libre.com>
To:     Alexandre Bailon <abailon@...libre.com>
Cc:     Linux PM list <linux-pm@...r.kernel.org>,
        Georgi Djakov <georgi.djakov@...aro.org>,
        Patrick Titiano <ptitiano@...libre.com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Stephen Boyd <sboyd@...eaurora.org>, Emilio Lopez
        <emilio@...pez.com.ar>, Hans de Goede <hdegoede@...hat.com>, linux-clk
        <linux-clk@...r.kernel.org>, linux-arm-kernel" 
        <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Zening Wang <zening.wang@....com>,
        Dong Aisheng <aisheng.dong@....com>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...libre.com>,
        Carlo Caione <ccaione@...libre.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 0/3] Add support of busfreq

Hi Alex,

Some nitpick review comments below.

On Wed, Mar 13, 2019 at 12:33 PM Alexandre Bailon <abailon@...libre.com> wrote:
>
> This series implements busfreq, a framework used in MXP's

s/MXP/NXP/

> tree to scale the interconnect and dram frequencies.
> In the vendor tree, device's driver request for a
> performance level, which is used to scale the frequencies.
> This series implements it using the interconnect framework.
> Devices' driver request for bandwidth which is use by busfreq
> to determine a performance level, and then scale the frequency.
>
> Busfreq is quite generic. It could be used for any i.MX SoC.
> A busfreq platform driver just have to define a list of
> interconnect nodes, and some OPPs.
>
> This series is sent as RFC mostly because the current support
> of i.MX SoC won't benefit of busfreq framework, because the
> clocks' driver don't support interconnect / dram frequency
> scaling.

In your v2 cover letter could you post a link to a git branch that has
everything integrated that is needed to test the series? I guess this
is similar to what Aisheng asked for already.

> As exemple, this series implements busfreq for i.MX8MM whose
> upstreaming is in progress. Because this relies on ATF to
> do the frequency scaling, it won't be hard make it work.

It's not clear to me whether this series actual scales the dram
frequency based on what you said above. Is it just theoretical or do
you have it working with a pile of out-of-tree patches? Would be good
to include that pile of patches in your integration branch that I
suggested above.

Thanks,
Mike

>
> As exemple, this series implements busfreq for
> Alexandre Bailon (3):
>   drivers: interconnect: Add a driver for i.MX SoC
>   drivers: interconnect: imx: Add support of i.MX8MM
>   dt-bindings: interconnect: Document fsl,busfreq-imx8mm bindings
>
>  .../bindings/interconnect/imx8mm.txt          |  24 +
>  drivers/interconnect/Kconfig                  |   1 +
>  drivers/interconnect/Makefile                 |   1 +
>  drivers/interconnect/imx/Kconfig              |  17 +
>  drivers/interconnect/imx/Makefile             |   2 +
>  drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq-imx8mm.c     | 132 ++++
>  drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq.c            | 570 ++++++++++++++++++
>  drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq.h            | 123 ++++
>  include/dt-bindings/interconnect/imx8mm.h     |  37 ++
>  9 files changed, 907 insertions(+)
>  create mode 100644 Documentation/devicetree/bindings/interconnect/imx8mm.txt
>  create mode 100644 drivers/interconnect/imx/Kconfig
>  create mode 100644 drivers/interconnect/imx/Makefile
>  create mode 100644 drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq-imx8mm.c
>  create mode 100644 drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq.c
>  create mode 100644 drivers/interconnect/imx/busfreq.h
>  create mode 100644 include/dt-bindings/interconnect/imx8mm.h
>
> --
> 2.19.2



-- 
Michael Turquette
CEO
BayLibre - At the Heart of Embedded Linux
http://baylibre.com/
Schedule a meeting: https://calendly.com/mturquette

Powered by blists - more mailing lists