lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 Mar 2019 07:44:52 -0700
From:   Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>
To:     Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
Cc:     Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@...il.com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        "open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Memory Management List <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        netdev <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, bpf <bpf@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
        Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@....com>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@....com>,
        Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@....com>,
        Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@....com>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>,
        Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@...il.com>,
        Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
        Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@....com>,
        Szabolcs Nagy <Szabolcs.Nagy@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v11 08/14] net, arm64: untag user pointers in tcp_zerocopy_receive

On Mon, Mar 18, 2019 at 6:17 AM Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com> wrote:
>

> Looking at the code, what's the point of this address != zc->address
> check? Should I just remove it?

No you must not remove it.

The test detects if a u64 ->unsigned long  conversion might have truncated bits.

Quite surprisingly some people still use 32bit kernels.

The ABI is 64bit only, because we did not want to have yet another compat layer.

struct tcp_zerocopy_receive {
    __u64 address; /* in: address of mapping */
    __u32 length; /* in/out: number of bytes to map/mapped */
    __u32 recv_skip_hint; /* out: amount of bytes to skip */
};

Powered by blists - more mailing lists