lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 18 Mar 2019 16:35:30 +0000
From:   Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>
To:     linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-mm@...ck.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>,
        Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@...nel.org>,
        Branislav Rankov <Branislav.Rankov@....com>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Chintan Pandya <cpandya@...eaurora.org>,
        Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
        Dave Martin <Dave.Martin@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Eric Dumazet <edumazet@...gle.com>,
        Evgeniy Stepanov <eugenis@...gle.com>,
        Graeme Barnes <Graeme.Barnes@....com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Jacob Bramley <Jacob.Bramley@....com>,
        Kate Stewart <kstewart@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Kevin Brodsky <kevin.brodsky@....com>,
        "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
        Kostya Serebryany <kcc@...gle.com>,
        Lee Smith <Lee.Smith@....com>,
        Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@...il.com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Ramana Radhakrishnan <Ramana.Radhakrishnan@....com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Ruben Ayrapetyan <Ruben.Ayrapetyan@....com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Szabolcs Nagy <Szabolcs.Nagy@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/4] elf: Make AT_FLAGS arch configurable

Currently, the AT_FLAGS in the elf auxiliary vector are set to 0
by default by the kernel.
Some architectures might need to expose to the userspace a non-zero
value to advertise some platform specific ABI functionalities.

Make AT_FLAGS configurable by the architectures that require it.

Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>
CC: Andrey Konovalov <andreyknvl@...gle.com>
CC: Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Vincenzo Frascino <vincenzo.frascino@....com>
---
 fs/binfmt_elf.c        | 6 +++++-
 fs/binfmt_elf_fdpic.c  | 6 +++++-
 fs/compat_binfmt_elf.c | 5 +++++
 3 files changed, 15 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/binfmt_elf.c b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
index 7d09d125f148..f699a9ef5112 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_elf.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
@@ -84,6 +84,10 @@ static int elf_core_dump(struct coredump_params *cprm);
 #define ELF_CORE_EFLAGS	0
 #endif
 
+#ifndef ELF_AT_FLAGS
+#define ELF_AT_FLAGS	0
+#endif
+
 #define ELF_PAGESTART(_v) ((_v) & ~(unsigned long)(ELF_MIN_ALIGN-1))
 #define ELF_PAGEOFFSET(_v) ((_v) & (ELF_MIN_ALIGN-1))
 #define ELF_PAGEALIGN(_v) (((_v) + ELF_MIN_ALIGN - 1) & ~(ELF_MIN_ALIGN - 1))
@@ -249,7 +253,7 @@ create_elf_tables(struct linux_binprm *bprm, struct elfhdr *exec,
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_PHENT, sizeof(struct elf_phdr));
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_PHNUM, exec->e_phnum);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_BASE, interp_load_addr);
-	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_FLAGS, 0);
+	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_FLAGS, ELF_AT_FLAGS);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_ENTRY, exec->e_entry);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_UID, from_kuid_munged(cred->user_ns, cred->uid));
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_EUID, from_kuid_munged(cred->user_ns, cred->euid));
diff --git a/fs/binfmt_elf_fdpic.c b/fs/binfmt_elf_fdpic.c
index b53bb3729ac1..cf1e680a6b88 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_elf_fdpic.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_elf_fdpic.c
@@ -82,6 +82,10 @@ static int elf_fdpic_map_file_by_direct_mmap(struct elf_fdpic_params *,
 static int elf_fdpic_core_dump(struct coredump_params *cprm);
 #endif
 
+#ifndef ELF_AT_FLAGS
+#define ELF_AT_FLAGS	0
+#endif
+
 static struct linux_binfmt elf_fdpic_format = {
 	.module		= THIS_MODULE,
 	.load_binary	= load_elf_fdpic_binary,
@@ -651,7 +655,7 @@ static int create_elf_fdpic_tables(struct linux_binprm *bprm,
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_PHENT,	sizeof(struct elf_phdr));
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_PHNUM,	exec_params->hdr.e_phnum);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_BASE,	interp_params->elfhdr_addr);
-	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_FLAGS,	0);
+	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_FLAGS,	ELF_AT_FLAGS);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_ENTRY,	exec_params->entry_addr);
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_UID,	(elf_addr_t) from_kuid_munged(cred->user_ns, cred->uid));
 	NEW_AUX_ENT(AT_EUID,	(elf_addr_t) from_kuid_munged(cred->user_ns, cred->euid));
diff --git a/fs/compat_binfmt_elf.c b/fs/compat_binfmt_elf.c
index 15f6e96b3bd9..a21cf99701ae 100644
--- a/fs/compat_binfmt_elf.c
+++ b/fs/compat_binfmt_elf.c
@@ -79,6 +79,11 @@
 #define	ELF_HWCAP2		COMPAT_ELF_HWCAP2
 #endif
 
+#ifdef	COMPAT_ELF_AT_FLAGS
+#undef	ELF_AT_FLAGS
+#define	ELF_AT_FLAGS		COMPAT_ELF_AT_FLAGS
+#endif
+
 #ifdef	COMPAT_ARCH_DLINFO
 #undef	ARCH_DLINFO
 #define	ARCH_DLINFO		COMPAT_ARCH_DLINFO
-- 
2.21.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists