lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Tue, 26 Mar 2019 15:05:52 +0900
From:   Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
To:     Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
Cc:     Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        linux-efi <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Alistair Strachan <astrachan@...gle.com>,
        Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] efi/libstub: refactor cmd_stubcopy

Hi Ard,



On Sat, Feb 16, 2019 at 11:07 AM Masahiro Yamada
<yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
>
> On Sat, Feb 16, 2019 at 12:38 AM Ard Biesheuvel
> <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Fri, 15 Feb 2019 at 06:49, Masahiro Yamada
> > <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > On Tue, Feb 12, 2019 at 4:26 PM Ard Biesheuvel
> > > <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > On Tue, 12 Feb 2019 at 04:45, Masahiro Yamada
> > > > <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > It took me a while to understand what is going on in the nested
> > > > > if-blocks.
> > > > >
> > > > > Simplify it by removing unneeded code.
> > > > >
> > > > >   - if_changed automatically adds 'set -e', so any failure in the
> > > > >     series of commands makes it immediately fail as a whole.
> > > > >     So, the outer if block is entirely redundant.
> > > > >
> > > > >   - Since commit 9c2af1c7377a ("kbuild: add .DELETE_ON_ERROR special
> > > > >     target"), GNU Make automatically deletes the target on any failure
> > > > >     in its recipe. The explicit 'rm -f $@' is redundant.
> > > > >
> > > > >   - surrounding commands with ( ) will spawn a subshell to execute them
> > > > >     in it, but it is rarely useful to do so.
> > > > >
> > > > > Signed-off-by: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
> > > >
> > > > Assuming that it still works as expected:
> > > >
> > > > Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
> > > >
> > > > You can test this by adding a statically initialized global function
> > > > pointer to any of the libstub source files that get built for ARM.
> > > >
> > > > Thanks!
> > >
> > >
> > > I tried that, and it failed as expected.
> > >
> >
> > Great, thanks for double checking.
> >
> > Are you taking this directly, or do you want me to take it via the EFI
> > tree? Either is fine with me
> >
> >
>
> Could you apply it to your EFI tree?
> Thanks.



Will you pick it up?



-- 
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

Powered by blists - more mailing lists