lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 11 Apr 2019 15:18:45 -0700
From:   Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>
To:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
Cc:     Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Sinan Kaya <okaya@...nel.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Vasily Gorbik <gor@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Adrian Reber <adrian@...as.de>,
        Richard Guy Briggs <rgb@...hat.com>,
        Andy Shevchenko <andriy.shevchenko@...ux.intel.com>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com>,
        Matthew Wilcox <willy@...radead.org>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com>,
        Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>,
        Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@...ove.sakura.ne.jp>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] init: Do not select DEBUG_KERNEL by default

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 10:00:24AM -0700, Kees Cook wrote:
> On Wed, Apr 10, 2019 at 10:34 PM Masahiro Yamada
> <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com> wrote:
> >
> > On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 11:47 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> > >
> > > On Wed, Apr 10, 2019 at 5:56 PM Sinan Kaya <okaya@...nel.org> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > We can't seem to have a kernel with CONFIG_EXPERT set but
> > > > CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL unset these days.
> > > >
> > > > While some of the features under the CONFIG_EXPERT require
> > > > CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL, it doesn't apply for all features.
> > > >
> > > > It looks like CONFIG_KALLSYMS_ALL is the only feature that
> > > > requires CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL.
> > > >
> > > > Select CONFIG_EXPERT when CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL is chosen but
> > > > you can still choose CONFIG_EXPERT without CONFIG_DEBUG_KERNEL.
> > > >
> > > > Signed-off-by: Sinan Kaya <okaya@...nel.org>
> > > > Reviewed-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
> > >
> > > Masahiro, should this go via your tree, or somewhere else?
> >
> >
> > I think somewhere else.
> 
> Okay. Andrew, can you take this?

Echoing my comment from the previous thread: this does not seem like the
right solution to me and it introduces a new problem. Please see my
response to v2 for a quick alternative that would address the underlying
bug, which is that some code generation depends on DEBUG_KERNEL.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists