lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 11 Apr 2019 15:34:33 -0700
From:   Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
To:     Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>
Cc:     Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        linux-arch <linux-arch@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@...rulasolutions.com>,
        Palmer Dabbelt <palmer@...ive.com>,
        Daniel Lustig <dlustig@...dia.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>,
        "Maciej W. Rozycki" <macro@...ux-mips.org>,
        Paul Burton <paul.burton@...s.com>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>,
        Yoshinori Sato <ysato@...rs.sourceforge.jp>,
        Rich Felker <dalias@...c.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>,
        Mikulas Patocka <mpatocka@...hat.com>,
        Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@...il.com>,
        Luis Chamberlain <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 01/21] docs/memory-barriers.txt: Rewrite "KERNEL I/O
 BARRIER EFFECTS" section

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 3:13 PM Benjamin Herrenschmidt
<benh@...nel.crashing.org> wrote:
>
> Minor nit... I would have said "All readX() and writeX() accesses _from
> the same CPU_ to the same peripheral... and then s/the CPU/this CPU.

Maybe talk about "same thread" rather than "same cpu", with the
understanding that scheduling/preemption has to include the
appropriate cross-CPU IO barrier?

                   Linus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists