lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 11 Apr 2019 09:32:21 +0900
From:   Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>
To:     Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com>
Cc:     Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        live-patching@...r.kernel.org,
        Linux Kbuild mailing list <linux-kbuild@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jessica Yu <jeyu@...nel.org>, Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
        Joao Moreira <jmoreira@...e.de>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Konstantin Khlebnikov <khlebnikov@...dex-team.ru>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Michael Matz <matz@...e.de>, Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>,
        Nicolai Stange <nstange@...e.de>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 1/9] livepatch: Create and include UAPI headers

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 12:52 AM Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com> wrote:
>
> From: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>
>
> Define klp prefixes in include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h, and use them for
> replacing hard-coded values in kernel/livepatch/core.c.
>
> Update MAINTAINERS.
>
> Note: Add defines to uapi as these are also to be used by a newly
> introduced klp-convert script.
>
> Signed-off-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>
> Signed-off-by: Joao Moreira <jmoreira@...e.de>
> Signed-off-by: Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com>
> ---
>  MAINTAINERS                    |  1 +
>  include/linux/livepatch.h      |  1 +
>  include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h | 17 +++++++++++++++++
>  kernel/livepatch/core.c        |  4 ++--
>  4 files changed, 21 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)
>  create mode 100644 include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h



> diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h b/include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h
> new file mode 100644
> index 000000000000..bb86243de805
> --- /dev/null
> +++ b/include/uapi/linux/livepatch.h
> @@ -0,0 +1,17 @@
> +/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */


In my understanding, UAPI headers should be licensed under:

/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 WITH Linux-syscall-note */


> +
> +/*
> + * livepatch.h - Kernel Live Patching Core
> + *
> + * Copyright (C) 2016 Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>
> + */
> +
> +#ifndef _UAPI_LIVEPATCH_H
> +#define _UAPI_LIVEPATCH_H
> +
> +#include <linux/types.h>


Why is this include needed?

> +#define KLP_RELA_PREFIX                ".klp.rela."
> +#define KLP_SYM_PREFIX         ".klp.sym."

These do not depend on <linux/types.h>



> +
> +#endif /* _UAPI_LIVEPATCH_H */



-- 
Best Regards
Masahiro Yamada

Powered by blists - more mailing lists