lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 11 Apr 2019 13:22:27 -0700
From:   Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>
To:     Guenter Roeck <groeck@...gle.com>
Cc:     Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, kernelci@...ups.io,
        Guillaume Tucker <guillaume.tucker@...labora.com>,
        Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Mark Brown <broonie@...nel.org>,
        Tomeu Vizoso <tomeu.vizoso@...labora.com>,
        Matt Hart <matthew.hart@...aro.org>,
        Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
        Kevin Hilman <khilman@...libre.com>,
        Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@...labora.com>,
        Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@...il.com>,
        Dominik Brodowski <linux@...inikbrodowski.net>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Adrian Reber <adrian@...as.de>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Johannes Weiner <hannes@...xchg.org>,
        Linux MM <linux-mm@...ck.org>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Richard Guy Briggs <rgb@...hat.com>,
        "Peter Zijlstra (Intel)" <peterz@...radead.org>, info@...nelci.org
Subject: Re: next/master boot bisection: next-20190215 on beaglebone-black

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 1:08 PM Guenter Roeck <groeck@...gle.com> wrote:
>
> On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 10:35 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> >
> > On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 9:42 AM Guenter Roeck <groeck@...gle.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > On Thu, Apr 11, 2019 at 9:19 AM Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org> wrote:
> > > >
> > > > On Thu, Mar 7, 2019 at 7:43 AM Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com> wrote:
> > > > > I went ahead and acquired one of these boards to see if I can can
> > > > > debug this locally.
> > > >
> > > > Hi! Any progress on this? Might it be possible to unblock this series
> > > > for v5.2 by adding a temporary "not on ARM" flag?
> > > >
> > >
> > > Can someone send me a pointer to the series in question ? I would like
> > > to run it through my testbed.
> >
> > It's already in -mm and linux-next (",mm: shuffle initial free memory
> > to improve memory-side-cache utilization") but it gets enabled with
> > CONFIG_SHUFFLE_PAGE_ALLOCATOR=y (which was made the default briefly in
> > -mm which triggered problems on ARM as was reverted).
> >
>
> Boot tests report
>
> Qemu test results:
>     total: 345 pass: 345 fail: 0
>
> This is on top of next-20190410 with CONFIG_SHUFFLE_PAGE_ALLOCATOR=y
> and the known crashes fixed.

In addition to CONFIG_SHUFFLE_PAGE_ALLOCATOR=y you also need the
kernel command line option "page_alloc.shuffle=1"

...so I doubt you are running with shuffling enabled. Another way to
double check is:

   cat /sys/module/page_alloc/parameters/shuffle

Powered by blists - more mailing lists