lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 12 Apr 2019 14:42:22 +0100
From:   Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>
To:     Ulf Hansson <ulf.hansson@...aro.org>
Cc:     Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
        "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Linux ARM <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@...ia.com>,
        Aaro Koskinen <aaro.koskinen@....fi>,
        Florian Fainelli <f.fainelli@...il.com>,
        Michal Simek <michal.simek@...inx.com>,
        Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] firmware/psci: add support for SYSTEM_RESET2

On Fri, Apr 12, 2019 at 02:37:05PM +0200, Ulf Hansson wrote:
> Sudeep, Lorenzo, Mark
> 
> On Fri, 12 Apr 2019 at 12:15, Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com> wrote:
> >
> > On Fri, Apr 12, 2019 at 12:10:45PM +0200, Rafael J. Wysocki wrote:
> > > On Friday, April 12, 2019 12:02:27 PM CEST Sudeep Holla wrote:
> > > > PSCI v1.1 introduced SYSTEM_RESET2 to allow both architectural resets
> > > > where the semantics are described by the PSCI specification itself as
> > > > well as vendor-specific resets. Currently only system warm reset
> > > > semantics is defined as part of architectural resets by the specification.
> > > >
> > > > This patch implements support for SYSTEM_RESET2 by making using of
> > > > reboot_mode passed by the reboot infrastructure in the kernel.
> > > >
> > > > Cc: Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>
> > > > Acked-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>
> > > > Signed-off-by: Sudeep Holla <sudeep.holla@....com>
> > > > ---
> > > >  drivers/firmware/psci.c   | 24 +++++++++++++++++++++++-
> > > >  include/uapi/linux/psci.h |  2 ++
> > > >  2 files changed, 25 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
> >
> > [...]
> >
> > > > --
> > >
> > > So I queued up the PSCI series from Ulf which clashes with this patch.
> > >
> >
> > Ah OK, I wasn't aware(just back from holiday) that it's going through
> > your tree. No worries, I will rebase and repost soon. I want testing
> > by xilinx or Aaro Koskinen before that.
> >
> > > I can take this one too, but I'd rather avoid becoming a PSCI maintainer as a
> > > result. :-)
> > >
> >
> > I can understand, I assure it's one off :)
>
> Speaking about that. I would gladly help out to host a git tree to
> collect patches that you have acked. In this way, we can, for example,
> get the patches pre-tested in linux next before we send the
> pull-request.
>
> If you think sounds like a good idea, just tell me so I can prepare a
> tree for the next release cycle...
>

For now, I just have this one patch. So if Rafael has queued all your
patches, I can just rebase and post it once I get tested-by from Aaro
Koskinen, so that Rafael can queue this too. Or are you planning to
send PR to Rafael, sorry if I missed details already discussed on the
list.

--
Regards,
Sudeep

Powered by blists - more mailing lists