lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 12 Apr 2019 16:12:11 +0200
From:   Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>
To:     Alastair D'Silva <alastair@....ibm.com>
Cc:     alastair@...ilva.org, Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>,
        Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>,
        David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>,
        Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>,
        Karsten Keil <isdn@...ux-pingi.de>,
        Jassi Brar <jassisinghbrar@...il.com>,
        Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
        "David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
        Jose Abreu <Jose.Abreu@...opsys.com>,
        Kalle Valo <kvalo@...eaurora.org>,
        Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>,
        Benson Leung <bleung@...omium.org>,
        Enric Balletbo i Serra <enric.balletbo@...labora.com>,
        "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@...ux.ibm.com>,
        "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org, dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, netdev@...r.kernel.org,
        ath10k@...ts.infradead.org, linux-wireless@...r.kernel.org,
        linux-scsi@...r.kernel.org, linux-fbdev@...r.kernel.org,
        devel@...verdev.osuosl.org, linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/4] lib/hexdump.c: Replace ascii bool in
 hex_dump_to_buffer with flags

On Wed 2019-04-10 13:17:19, Alastair D'Silva wrote:
> From: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@...ilva.org>
> 
> In order to support additional features in hex_dump_to_buffer, replace
> the ascii bool parameter with flags.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Alastair D'Silva <alastair@...ilva.org>
> ---
>  drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_engine_cs.c            |  2 +-
>  drivers/isdn/hardware/mISDN/mISDNisar.c           |  6 ++++--
>  drivers/mailbox/mailbox-test.c                    |  2 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/amd/xgbe/xgbe-drv.c          |  2 +-
>  drivers/net/ethernet/synopsys/dwc-xlgmac-common.c |  2 +-
>  drivers/net/wireless/ath/ath10k/debug.c           |  3 ++-
>  drivers/net/wireless/intel/iwlegacy/3945-mac.c    |  2 +-
>  drivers/platform/chrome/wilco_ec/debugfs.c        |  3 ++-
>  drivers/scsi/scsi_logging.c                       |  8 +++-----
>  drivers/staging/fbtft/fbtft-core.c                |  2 +-
>  fs/seq_file.c                                     |  3 ++-
>  include/linux/printk.h                            |  2 +-
>  lib/hexdump.c                                     | 15 ++++++++-------
>  lib/test_hexdump.c                                |  5 +++--
>  14 files changed, 31 insertions(+), 26 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_engine_cs.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_engine_cs.c
> index 49fa43ff02ba..fb133e729f9a 100644
> --- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_engine_cs.c
> +++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_engine_cs.c
> @@ -1318,7 +1318,7 @@ static void hexdump(struct drm_printer *m, const void *buf, size_t len)
>  		WARN_ON_ONCE(hex_dump_to_buffer(buf + pos, len - pos,
>  						rowsize, sizeof(u32),
>  						line, sizeof(line),
> -						false) >= sizeof(line));
> +						0) >= sizeof(line));

It might be more clear when we define:

#define HEXDUMP_BINARY 0

>  		drm_printf(m, "[%04zx] %s\n", pos, line);
>  
>  		prev = buf + pos;
> diff --git a/include/linux/printk.h b/include/linux/printk.h
> index c014e5573665..82975853c400 100644
> --- a/include/linux/printk.h
> +++ b/include/linux/printk.h
> @@ -493,7 +493,7 @@ enum {
>  
>  extern int hex_dump_to_buffer(const void *buf, size_t len, int rowsize,
>  			      int groupsize, char *linebuf, size_t linebuflen,
> -			      bool ascii);
> +			      u64 flags);

I wonder how fancy hex_dump could be. IMHO, u32 should be enough.
The last famous words ;-)

Best Regards,
Petr

Powered by blists - more mailing lists