lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Sat, 20 Apr 2019 13:51:26 +0200
From:   Oleg Nesterov <oleg@...hat.com>
To:     Christian Brauner <christian@...uner.io>
Cc:     Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>,
        Daniel Colascione <dancol@...gle.com>,
        Jann Horn <jannh@...gle.com>,
        Florian Weimer <fweimer@...hat.com>,
        kernel list <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@...gle.com>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
        Al Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
        Andrei Vagin <avagin@...il.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
        "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@...ssion.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        linux-fsdevel <linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
        Nadav Amit <namit@...are.com>, Serge Hallyn <serge@...lyn.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>,
        Taehee Yoo <ap420073@...il.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        kernel-team <kernel-team@...roid.com>,
        Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>
Subject: Re: [PATCH RFC 1/2] Add polling support to pidfd

On 04/19, Christian Brauner wrote:
>
> > Just for the exit notification purposes, the states are:
> > if process has exit_state == 0, block.
> > if process is zombie/dead but not reaped, then return POLLIN
> > if process is reaped, then return POLLIN | POLLHUP
>
> Oleg was explicitly against EXIT_ZOMBIE/DEAD thing, no? He said so in a
> prior mail. Has this been addressed?

Yes, please don't use EXIT_XXX codes, nobody should ever use them except the
core kernel exit/wait paths. For example, EXIT_DEAD means that the task auto-
reaps or its parent had to temporary drop tasklist.

Just check ->exit_state != 0 && thread_group_empty(). Note that we need
thread_group_empty() only for the case when the task is traced, in this case
we have an extra notification for debugger which can confuse pidfd_poll().

And of course, everything will differ if/when we will need to monitor the
sub-threads.

And btw I don't think it needs tasklist_lock, but lets discuss this when we
have a new version based on pidfd.

Oleg.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists