lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite for Android: free password hash cracker in your pocket
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 29 Apr 2019 15:22:09 -0700
From:   Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
To:     Sean Christopherson <sean.j.christopherson@...el.com>
Cc:     Andrew Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Nicolai Stange <nstange@...e.de>,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
        "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        "the arch/x86 maintainers" <x86@...nel.org>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
        Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>,
        Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>,
        Joe Lawrence <joe.lawrence@...hat.com>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>,
        Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@...cle.com>,
        Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>,
        Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <bigeasy@...utronix.de>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@...gle.com>,
        Nayna Jain <nayna@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Joerg Roedel <jroedel@...e.de>,
        Linux List Kernel Mailing <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        live-patching@...r.kernel.org,
        "open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/4] x86/ftrace: make ftrace_int3_handler() not to skip
 fops invocation

On Mon, Apr 29, 2019 at 3:08 PM Sean Christopherson
<sean.j.christopherson@...el.com> wrote:
>
> FWIW, Lakemont (Quark) doesn't block NMI/SMI in the STI shadow, but I'm
> not sure that counters the "horrible errata" statement ;-).  SMI+RSM saves
> and restores STI blocking in that case, but AFAICT NMI has no such
> protection and will effectively break the shadow on its IRET.

Ugh. I can't say I care deeply about Quark (ie never seemed to go
anywhere), but it's odd. I thought it was based on a Pentium core (or
i486+?). Are you saying those didn't do it either?

I have this dim memory about talking about this with some (AMD?)
engineer, and having an alternative approach for the sti shadow wrt
NMI - basically not checking interrupts in the instruction you return
to with 'iret'. I don't think it was even conditional on the "iret
from NMI", I think it was basically any iret also did the sti shadow
thing.

But I can find no actual paper to back that up, so this may be me just
making sh*t up.

> KVM is generally ok with respect to STI blocking, but ancient versions
> didn't migrate STI blocking and there's currently a hole where
> single-stepping a guest (from host userspace) could drop STI_BLOCKING
> if a different VM-Exit occurs between the single-step #DB VM-Exit and the
> instruction in the shadow.  Though "don't do that" may be a reasonable
> answer in that case.

I thought the sti shadow blocked the single-step exception too? I know
"mov->ss" does block debug interrupts too.

Or are you saying that it's some "single step by emulation" that just
miss setting the STI_BLOCKING flag?

                   Linus

Powered by blists - more mailing lists