lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 29 Apr 2019 11:28:01 -0400
From:   Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>
To:     Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>
Cc:     linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-api@...r.kernel.org,
        Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        "Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
        Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        Dave Watson <davejwatson@...com>, Paul Turner <pjt@...gle.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Russell King <linux@....linux.org.uk>,
        Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
        Andi Kleen <andi@...stfloor.org>, Chris Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
        Ben Maurer <bmaurer@...com>,
        Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
        Josh Triplett <josh@...htriplett.org>,
        Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
        Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>,
        Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@...il.com>,
        Joel Fernandes <joelaf@...gle.com>,
        Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>,
        Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>,
        Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>,
        Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>,
        Alan Modra <amodra@...il.com>, linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
Subject: [PATCH for 5.2 10/12] rseq/selftests: powerpc code signature: generate valid instructions

Use "twui" as the guard instruction for the restartable sequence abort
handler.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@...icios.com>
CC: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@...nel.crashing.org>
CC: Paul Mackerras <paulus@...ba.org>
CC: Michael Ellerman <mpe@...erman.id.au>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Alan Modra <amodra@...il.com>
CC: linuxppc-dev@...ts.ozlabs.org
---
 tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-ppc.h | 10 +++++++++-
 1 file changed, 9 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-ppc.h b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-ppc.h
index 9df18487fa9f..76be90196fe4 100644
--- a/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-ppc.h
+++ b/tools/testing/selftests/rseq/rseq-ppc.h
@@ -6,7 +6,15 @@
  * (C) Copyright 2016-2018 - Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@...il.com>
  */
 
-#define RSEQ_SIG	0x53053053
+/*
+ * RSEQ_SIG is used with the following trap instruction:
+ *
+ * powerpc-be:    0f e5 00 0b           twui   r5,11
+ * powerpc64-le:  0b 00 e5 0f           twui   r5,11
+ * powerpc64-be:  0f e5 00 0b           twui   r5,11
+ */
+
+#define RSEQ_SIG	0x0fe5000b
 
 #define rseq_smp_mb()		__asm__ __volatile__ ("sync"	::: "memory", "cc")
 #define rseq_smp_lwsync()	__asm__ __volatile__ ("lwsync"	::: "memory", "cc")
-- 
2.11.0

Powered by blists - more mailing lists