lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Mon, 29 Apr 2019 11:41:47 -0700
From:   tip-bot for Thomas Gleixner <tipbot@...or.com>
To:     linux-tip-commits@...r.kernel.org
Cc:     rodrigo.vivi@...el.com, dsterba@...e.com,
        tom.zanussi@...ux.intel.com, akinobu.mita@...il.com,
        maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com, adobriyan@...il.com,
        jthumshirn@...e.de, daniel@...ll.ch, mbenes@...e.cz, hpa@...or.com,
        glider@...gle.com, rppt@...ux.vnet.ibm.com, snitzer@...hat.com,
        akpm@...ux-foundation.org, hch@....de, jpoimboe@...hat.com,
        joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com, robin.murphy@....com,
        catalin.marinas@....com, rientjes@...gle.com, airlied@...ux.ie,
        linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, mingo@...nel.org, penberg@...nel.org,
        clm@...com, tglx@...utronix.de, agk@...hat.com,
        josef@...icpanda.com, luto@...nel.org, m.szyprowski@...sung.com,
        cl@...ux.com, dvyukov@...gle.com, rostedt@...dmis.org,
        jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com, aryabinin@...tuozzo.com
Subject: [tip:core/stacktrace] drm: Simplify stacktrace handling

Commit-ID:  487f3c7fb1a07ceff78bb18688eb8538a4775227
Gitweb:     https://git.kernel.org/tip/487f3c7fb1a07ceff78bb18688eb8538a4775227
Author:     Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
AuthorDate: Thu, 25 Apr 2019 11:45:09 +0200
Committer:  Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
CommitDate: Mon, 29 Apr 2019 12:37:53 +0200

drm: Simplify stacktrace handling

Replace the indirection through struct stack_trace by using the storage
array based interfaces.

The original code in all printing functions is really wrong. It allocates a
storage array on stack which is unused because depot_fetch_stack() does not
store anything in it. It overwrites the entries pointer in the stack_trace
struct so it points to the depot storage.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>
Acked-by: Daniel Vetter <daniel@...ll.ch>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>
Cc: intel-gfx@...ts.freedesktop.org
Cc: Joonas Lahtinen <joonas.lahtinen@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Maarten Lankhorst <maarten.lankhorst@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: dri-devel@...ts.freedesktop.org
Cc: David Airlie <airlied@...ux.ie>
Cc: Jani Nikula <jani.nikula@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Rodrigo Vivi <rodrigo.vivi@...el.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@...nel.org>
Cc: linux-mm@...ck.org
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@...gle.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@...glegroups.com
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@...il.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@....de>
Cc: iommu@...ts.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Robin Murphy <robin.murphy@....com>
Cc: Marek Szyprowski <m.szyprowski@...sung.com>
Cc: Johannes Thumshirn <jthumshirn@...e.de>
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@...e.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <clm@...com>
Cc: Josef Bacik <josef@...icpanda.com>
Cc: linux-btrfs@...r.kernel.org
Cc: dm-devel@...hat.com
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@...hat.com>
Cc: Alasdair Kergon <agk@...hat.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@...ux.intel.com>
Cc: Miroslav Benes <mbenes@...e.cz>
Cc: linux-arch@...r.kernel.org
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190425094802.622094226@linutronix.de

---
 drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mm.c                | 22 +++++++---------------
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_vma.c         | 11 ++++-------
 drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_runtime_pm.c | 21 +++++++--------------
 3 files changed, 18 insertions(+), 36 deletions(-)

diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mm.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mm.c
index 69552777e13a..8b4cd31ce7bd 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mm.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/drm_mm.c
@@ -106,22 +106,19 @@
 static noinline void save_stack(struct drm_mm_node *node)
 {
 	unsigned long entries[STACKDEPTH];
-	struct stack_trace trace = {
-		.entries = entries,
-		.max_entries = STACKDEPTH,
-		.skip = 1
-	};
+	unsigned int n;
 
-	save_stack_trace(&trace);
+	n = stack_trace_save(entries, ARRAY_SIZE(entries), 1);
 
 	/* May be called under spinlock, so avoid sleeping */
-	node->stack = depot_save_stack(&trace, GFP_NOWAIT);
+	node->stack = stack_depot_save(entries, n, GFP_NOWAIT);
 }
 
 static void show_leaks(struct drm_mm *mm)
 {
 	struct drm_mm_node *node;
-	unsigned long entries[STACKDEPTH];
+	unsigned long *entries;
+	unsigned int nr_entries;
 	char *buf;
 
 	buf = kmalloc(BUFSZ, GFP_KERNEL);
@@ -129,19 +126,14 @@ static void show_leaks(struct drm_mm *mm)
 		return;
 
 	list_for_each_entry(node, drm_mm_nodes(mm), node_list) {
-		struct stack_trace trace = {
-			.entries = entries,
-			.max_entries = STACKDEPTH
-		};
-
 		if (!node->stack) {
 			DRM_ERROR("node [%08llx + %08llx]: unknown owner\n",
 				  node->start, node->size);
 			continue;
 		}
 
-		depot_fetch_stack(node->stack, &trace);
-		snprint_stack_trace(buf, BUFSZ, &trace, 0);
+		nr_entries = stack_depot_fetch(node->stack, &entries);
+		stack_trace_snprint(buf, BUFSZ, entries, nr_entries, 0);
 		DRM_ERROR("node [%08llx + %08llx]: inserted at\n%s",
 			  node->start, node->size, buf);
 	}
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_vma.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_vma.c
index b713bed20c38..41b5bcb803cb 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_vma.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/i915_vma.c
@@ -36,11 +36,8 @@
 
 static void vma_print_allocator(struct i915_vma *vma, const char *reason)
 {
-	unsigned long entries[12];
-	struct stack_trace trace = {
-		.entries = entries,
-		.max_entries = ARRAY_SIZE(entries),
-	};
+	unsigned long *entries;
+	unsigned int nr_entries;
 	char buf[512];
 
 	if (!vma->node.stack) {
@@ -49,8 +46,8 @@ static void vma_print_allocator(struct i915_vma *vma, const char *reason)
 		return;
 	}
 
-	depot_fetch_stack(vma->node.stack, &trace);
-	snprint_stack_trace(buf, sizeof(buf), &trace, 0);
+	nr_entries = stack_depot_fetch(vma->node.stack, &entries);
+	stack_trace_snprint(buf, sizeof(buf), entries, nr_entries, 0);
 	DRM_DEBUG_DRIVER("vma.node [%08llx + %08llx] %s: inserted at %s\n",
 			 vma->node.start, vma->node.size, reason, buf);
 }
diff --git a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_runtime_pm.c b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_runtime_pm.c
index 1f8acbb332c9..20c4434474e3 100644
--- a/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_runtime_pm.c
+++ b/drivers/gpu/drm/i915/intel_runtime_pm.c
@@ -60,27 +60,20 @@
 static noinline depot_stack_handle_t __save_depot_stack(void)
 {
 	unsigned long entries[STACKDEPTH];
-	struct stack_trace trace = {
-		.entries = entries,
-		.max_entries = ARRAY_SIZE(entries),
-		.skip = 1,
-	};
+	unsigned int n;
 
-	save_stack_trace(&trace);
-	return depot_save_stack(&trace, GFP_NOWAIT | __GFP_NOWARN);
+	n = stack_trace_save(entries, ARRAY_SIZE(entries), 1);
+	return stack_depot_save(entries, n, GFP_NOWAIT | __GFP_NOWARN);
 }
 
 static void __print_depot_stack(depot_stack_handle_t stack,
 				char *buf, int sz, int indent)
 {
-	unsigned long entries[STACKDEPTH];
-	struct stack_trace trace = {
-		.entries = entries,
-		.max_entries = ARRAY_SIZE(entries),
-	};
+	unsigned long *entries;
+	unsigned int nr_entries;
 
-	depot_fetch_stack(stack, &trace);
-	snprint_stack_trace(buf, sz, &trace, indent);
+	nr_entries = stack_depot_fetch(stack, &entries);
+	stack_trace_snprint(buf, sz, entries, nr_entries, indent);
 }
 
 static void init_intel_runtime_pm_wakeref(struct drm_i915_private *i915)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists