lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Thu, 2 May 2019 11:42:39 +0200
From:   Marc Gonzalez <marc.w.gonzalez@...e.fr>
To:     Lorenzo Pieralisi <lorenzo.pieralisi@....com>,
        Bjorn Helgaas <bhelgaas@...gle.com>
Cc:     Stanimir Varbanov <svarbanov@...sol.com>,
        Andy Gross <andy.gross@...aro.org>,
        David Brown <david.brown@...aro.org>,
        Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@...aro.org>,
        PCI <linux-pci@...r.kernel.org>,
        MSM <linux-arm-msm@...r.kernel.org>,
        LKML <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jeffrey Hugo <jhugo@...eaurora.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH v1] PCI: qcom: Use quirk to override incorrect device
 class

On 30/04/2019 16:06, Lorenzo Pieralisi wrote:

> On Tue, Mar 12, 2019 at 06:34:55PM +0100, Marc Gonzalez wrote:
>
>> On 12/03/2019 18:18, Marc Gonzalez wrote:
>>
>>> On 12/03/2019 13:42, Stanimir Varbanov wrote:
>>>
>>>> I wonder, in case that dw_pcie_setup_rc() already has a write to
>>>> PCI_CLASS_DEVICE configuration register to set it as a bridge do we
>>>> still need to do the above fixup?
>>>
>>> I don't know, I don't have an affected device. Unless the msm8998 /is/ affected,
>>> and dw_pcie_setup_rc() actually fixes it?
>>
>> I think you hit the nail on the head...
>>
>> If I comment out
>> //dw_pcie_wr_own_conf(pp, PCI_CLASS_DEVICE, 2, PCI_CLASS_BRIDGE_PCI);
>> from dw_pcie_setup_rc()
>> then pci_class() returns 0xff000000 instead of 0x6040000
>>
>> So perhaps you're right: the quirk can be omitted altogether.
>> Unless it is not possible to program the device class on older chips?
> 
> Marc,
> 
> I would drop this patch from the PCI queue since in a different
> form it was already merged, please let me know if I am wrong.

I'm confused because you speak of *dropping* this patch (v1) -- but v1 was never
picked up AFAIK.

You picked up v5 on March 29:
https://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/10869519/

I see it in linux-next as 915347f67d41857a514bed77053b212f3696e8a3

Will Bjorn send it to LT during the merge window for 5.2?

Regards.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists