lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 3 May 2019 08:16:42 +0200
From:   Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To:     joeyli <jlee@...e.com>
Cc:     "Lee, Chun-Yi" <joeyli.kernel@...il.com>,
        James Morris <jmorris@...ei.org>,
        "Serge E . Hallyn" <serge@...lyn.com>,
        David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
        Josh Boyer <jwboyer@...oraproject.org>,
        Nayna Jain <nayna@...ux.ibm.com>,
        Mimi Zohar <zohar@...ux.ibm.com>,
        linux-efi <linux-efi@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-security-module <linux-security-module@...r.kernel.org>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        Anton Vorontsov <anton@...msg.org>,
        Colin Cross <ccross@...roid.com>,
        Tony Luck <tony.luck@...el.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 1/2 v2] efi: add a function to convert the status value to string

On Fri, 3 May 2019 at 08:15, joeyli <jlee@...e.com> wrote:
>
> On Thu, May 02, 2019 at 10:53:31AM +0200, Ard Biesheuvel wrote:
> > On Thu, 2 May 2019 at 06:04, Lee, Chun-Yi <joeyli.kernel@...il.com> wrote:
> > >
> > > This function can be used to convert EFI status value to string
> > > for printing out debug message. Using this function can improve
> > > the readability of log.
> > >
> > > v2.
> >
> > Please move the changelog out of the commit log (move it below the ---
> > further down)
> >
>
> OK! I will moved the changelog out of the commit log.
>
> > > - Changed the wording in subject and description.
> > > - Moved the marco immediately after the status value definitions.
> > > - Turned into a proper function instead of inline.
> > >
> >
> > You missed my point here. A proper function means the function in a .c
> > file, and only the declaration in a .h file. This way, you are still
> > duplicating the literal strings into every object file that references
> > this function.
> >
>
> Sorry for I missunderstood. I will move the function to load_uefi.c.
>

No, please move it to a file that is shared between all EFI code.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists