lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  linux-hardening  linux-cve-announce  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Fri, 3 May 2019 11:08:25 -0400
From:   Joel Fernandes <joel@...lfernandes.org>
To:     Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc:     Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
        Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
        atish patra <atishp04@...il.com>,
        Daniel Colascione <dancol@...gle.com>,
        Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@...el.com>,
        Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@....com>,
        Guenter Roeck <groeck@...omium.org>,
        Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Karim Yaghmour <karim.yaghmour@...rsys.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
        "Cc: Android Kernel" <kernel-team@...roid.com>,
        "open list:DOCUMENTATION" <linux-doc@...r.kernel.org>,
        "open list:KERNEL SELFTEST FRAMEWORK" 
        <linux-kselftest@...r.kernel.org>,
        linux-trace-devel@...r.kernel.org,
        Manoj Rao <linux@...ojrajarao.com>,
        Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@...nel.org>,
        Qais Yousef <qais.yousef@....com>,
        Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@...radead.org>,
        Shuah Khan <shuah@...nel.org>, Yonghong Song <yhs@...com>,
        Olof Johansson <olof@...om.net>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 resend 1/2] Provide in-kernel headers to make
 extending kernel easier

On Fri, May 03, 2019 at 10:33:15AM -0400, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> On Mon, 29 Apr 2019 16:24:25 +0200
> Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org> wrote:
> 
> > Hah, ok, I'll be glad to queue this up in my tree.  I'll take it now,
> > and if people who really object to this being in /proc/ and want it in
> > /sys/, we can add a follow-on patch before 5.2-final is out to move the
> > file to that location.
> 
> I really don't think putting it in /proc now is a good idea. Let's put
> it in /sys now. If we don't do it now and it gets into a main release,
> then that will become the permanent location for it.

I will send a patch to move it into /sys/kernel on top of this. Hope everyone
else is also Ok with that as the location.

thanks,

 - Joel

Powered by blists - more mailing lists