lists.openwall.net   lists  /  announce  owl-users  owl-dev  john-users  john-dev  passwdqc-users  yescrypt  popa3d-users  /  oss-security  kernel-hardening  musl  sabotage  tlsify  passwords  /  crypt-dev  xvendor  /  Bugtraq  Full-Disclosure  linux-kernel  linux-netdev  linux-ext4  PHC 
Open Source and information security mailing list archives
 
Hash Suite: Windows password security audit tool. GUI, reports in PDF.
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date:   Wed, 8 May 2019 12:50:27 -0400 (EDT)
From:   Alan Stern <stern@...land.harvard.edu>
To:     Yinbo Zhu <yinbo.zhu@....com>
cc:     Xiaobo Xie <xiaobo.xie@....com>,
        Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
        Ramneek Mehresh <ramneek.mehresh@...escale.com>,
        Nikhil Badola <nikhil.badola@...escale.com>,
        Ran Wang <ran.wang_1@....com>,
        "linux-usb@...r.kernel.org" <linux-usb@...r.kernel.org>,
        "linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>,
        Jiafei Pan <jiafei.pan@....com>,
        Suresh Gupta <suresh.gupta@...escale.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 4/5] usb: host: Stops USB controller init if PLL fails
 to lock

On Wed, 8 May 2019, Yinbo Zhu wrote:

> From: Ramneek Mehresh <ramneek.mehresh@...escale.com>
> 
> USB erratum-A006918 workaround tries to start internal PHY inside
> uboot (when PLL fails to lock). However, if the workaround also
> fails, then USB initialization is also stopped inside Linux.
> Erratum-A006918 workaround failure creates "fsl,erratum_a006918"
> node in device-tree. Presence of this node in device-tree is
> used to stop USB controller initialization in Linux
> 
> Signed-off-by: Ramneek Mehresh <ramneek.mehresh@...escale.com>
> Signed-off-by: Suresh Gupta <suresh.gupta@...escale.com>
> Signed-off-by: Yinbo Zhu <yinbo.zhu@....com>
> ---
> Change in v5:
> 		use dev_warn() instead of pr_warn()
> 
>  drivers/usb/host/ehci-fsl.c      |    5 +++++
>  drivers/usb/host/fsl-mph-dr-of.c |    3 ++-
>  2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 1 deletions(-)
> 
> diff --git a/drivers/usb/host/ehci-fsl.c b/drivers/usb/host/ehci-fsl.c
> index 1634ac8..90550a6 100644
> --- a/drivers/usb/host/ehci-fsl.c
> +++ b/drivers/usb/host/ehci-fsl.c
> @@ -236,6 +236,11 @@ static int ehci_fsl_setup_phy(struct usb_hcd *hcd,
>  		portsc |= PORT_PTS_PTW;
>  		/* fall through */
>  	case FSL_USB2_PHY_UTMI:
> +		if (pdata->has_fsl_erratum_a006918) {
> +			dev_warn(dev, "USB PHY clock invalid\n");
> +			return -EINVAL;
> +		}
> +

You need to add a "Fall through" comment between these two cases.

>  	case FSL_USB2_PHY_UTMI_DUAL:
>  		/* PHY_CLK_VALID bit is de-featured from all controller
>  		 * versions below 2.4 and is to be checked only for

Alan Stern

Powered by blists - more mailing lists